Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Condition (MeSH)

Neuroectodermal Tumors, Primitive, Peripheral

ClinicalTrials.gov lists 795 trials for Neuroectodermal Tumors, Primitive, Peripheral or a narrower condition beneath it. National Cancer Institute (NCI) has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 96.

MeSH D018241 Neoplasms Neoplasm C04
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

Phase 1 Phase 1 245 Phase 1/2 Phase 1/2 75 Phase 2 Phase 2 224 Phase 2/3 Phase 2/3 5 Phase 3 Phase 3 53 Phase 4 Phase 4 5 Not applicable Not applicable 65 Observational Observational 110 Phase 1 Phase 1 245 Phase 1/2 Phase 1/2 75 Phase 2 Phase 2 224 Phase 2/3 Phase 2/3 5 Phase 3 Phase 3 53 Phase 4 Phase 4 5 Not applicable Not applicable 65 Observational Observational 110

Trials per phase (log scale)

1 more section with rows

134 of the 795 trials are tagged with Neuroectodermal Tumors, Primitive, Peripheral itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.

Get the Neuroectodermal Tumors, Primitive, Peripheral report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

When did Neuroectodermal Tumors, Primitive, Peripheral trials start? (37)

Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.

Trials over time, by phase

  • Phase 1
  • Phase 1/2
  • Phase 2
  • Phase 2/3
  • Phase 3
  • Phase 4
  • Not applicable
  • Observational

Top of scale: 49

1990: 3 trials (Not applicable 1, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 1) 1991: 2 trials (Observational 1, Phase 1 1) 1992: 5 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 1, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 2) 1993: 2 trials (Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 1) 1994: 4 trials (Phase 2 3, Phase 1 1) 1995: 9 trials (Observational 1, Phase 3 2, Phase 2 4, Phase 1 2) 1996: 8 trials (Phase 2 3, Phase 1 5) 1997: 16 trials (Not applicable 1, Phase 2 6, Phase 1/2 2, Phase 1 7) 1998: 21 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 1, Phase 3 2, Phase 2 9, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 7) 1999: 20 trials (Phase 3 3, Phase 2 13, Phase 1 4) 2000: 21 trials (Observational 2, Phase 3 3, Phase 2 4, Phase 1/2 3, Phase 1 9) 2001: 30 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 2, Phase 3 6, Phase 2 5, Phase 1/2 2, Phase 1 14) 2002: 15 trials (Not applicable 2, Phase 3 2, Phase 2 5, Phase 1 6) 2003: 22 trials (Observational 2, Not applicable 4, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 8, Phase 1/2 2, Phase 1 5) 2004: 23 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 4, Phase 3 2, Phase 2 6, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 9) 2005: 32 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 2, Phase 3 3, Phase 2 11, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 14) 2006: 25 trials (Observational 4, Not applicable 3, Phase 4 1, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 9, Phase 1 7) 2007: 37 trials (Observational 8, Not applicable 3, Phase 3 4, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 8, Phase 1/2 2, Phase 1 11) 2008: 49 trials (Observational 16, Not applicable 5, Phase 3 2, Phase 2 16, Phase 1/2 3, Phase 1 7) 2009: 22 trials (Observational 5, Not applicable 1, Phase 2 6, Phase 1/2 3, Phase 1 7) 2010: 31 trials (Observational 8, Not applicable 1, Phase 3 2, Phase 2 9, Phase 1/2 2, Phase 1 9) 2011: 36 trials (Observational 11, Not applicable 4, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 5, Phase 1/2 4, Phase 1 11) 2012: 20 trials (Observational 6, Not applicable 2, Phase 2 1, Phase 1/2 5, Phase 1 6) 2013: 31 trials (Observational 3, Not applicable 4, Phase 3 2, Phase 2 9, Phase 1/2 2, Phase 1 11) 2014: 26 trials (Observational 2, Not applicable 4, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 4, Phase 1/2 6, Phase 1 9) 2015: 18 trials (Observational 1, Phase 2 9, Phase 1/2 2, Phase 1 6) 2016: 28 trials (Observational 4, Not applicable 3, Phase 4 1, Phase 2 6, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 13) 2017: 24 trials (Observational 2, Not applicable 1, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 12, Phase 1/2 3, Phase 1 5) 2018: 22 trials (Observational 3, Not applicable 3, Phase 3 2, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 5, Phase 1/2 3, Phase 1 5) 2019: 19 trials (Observational 3, Phase 4 2, Phase 2 4, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 9) 2020: 18 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 2, Phase 2 6, Phase 1/2 3, Phase 1 6) 2021: 23 trials (Observational 3, Phase 3 2, Phase 2 5, Phase 1/2 4, Phase 1 9) 2022: 17 trials (Observational 4, Not applicable 1, Phase 2 7, Phase 1/2 2, Phase 1 3) 2023: 18 trials (Observational 2, Not applicable 5, Phase 4 1, Phase 3 1, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 2, Phase 1/2 2, Phase 1 4) 2024: 29 trials (Observational 5, Not applicable 2, Phase 3 1, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 8, Phase 1/2 5, Phase 1 7) 2025: 26 trials (Observational 7, Not applicable 2, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 2, Phase 1/2 5, Phase 1 9)

Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.

Trials started per year
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 20
2025 26
2024 29
2023 18
2022 17
2021 23
2020 18
2019 19
2018 22
2017 24

Forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included, not rows of this table: about 25 trials starting in 2026 and about 27 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward, with about 0.7 times the starts already registered for the rest of 2026 added. The rows of this table count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. In backtests on conditions of this size, forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 15 percent and ran about 1 percent high against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 26 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered. The part-way figures are from forecasts that used a multiple fitted only on earlier years. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.

Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 68 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 53 months across 506 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

What phase are Neuroectodermal Tumors, Primitive, Peripheral trials in? (9)

Shown in this order: phase order.

Show the trials by phase as a table
Trials by phase
Phase Trials
Phase 1 245
Phase 1/2 75
Phase 2 224
Phase 2/3 5
Phase 3 53
Phase 4 5
Not applicable 65
Observational 110
Expanded access 13

How many Neuroectodermal Tumors, Primitive, Peripheral trials are recruiting? (12)

Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.

Trials by recruitment status
Status Trials
Not yet recruiting 12
Recruiting 100
Enrolling by invitation 4
Active, not recruiting 56
Available 6

Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.

Which lead sponsors run the most Neuroectodermal Tumors, Primitive, Peripheral trials? (2)

Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.

Lead sponsors
Sponsor Trials
National Cancer Institute (NCI) 96
Children's Oncology Group 73

Which drugs are being tested for Neuroectodermal Tumors, Primitive, Peripheral? (4)

Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.

Drugs tested
Drug Trials
Cytoxan 109
Melphalan 48
TOPOTECAN 45
Irinotecan 38

Interventions as named in the registry (11)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Interventions as named in the registry
Drug Trials
Etoposid 79
Vincristina 64
Filgrastime (G-CSF) 60
Doxorubicine 58
or carboplatin 57

These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.

Which serious adverse events do Neuroectodermal Tumors, Primitive, Peripheral trials report? (10)

Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.

Serious adverse events in this condition's trials
Adverse event Subjects affected Trials
Hypotension 322 35
Fever 316 29
Neutrophil count decreased 262 24
Platelet count decreased 209 30
Lymphocyte count decreased 206 20

Which publications cover Neuroectodermal Tumors, Primitive, Peripheral? (9)

Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.

Prevalence (2)

Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.

Prevalence
Orphanet disease Type Class Geography Jurisdiction Mapping relation
Peripheral primitive neuroectodermal tumor Point prevalence Unknown Worldwide Not stated Exact
Peripheral primitive neuroectodermal tumor Point prevalence Unknown Worldwide Not stated Exact

Rare-disease identity (2)

Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.

Rare-disease identity
Orphanet disease ORPHA code Relation Source
Peripheral primitive neuroectodermal tumor 370348 Exact Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1
Peripheral primitive neuroectodermal tumor 370348 Exact Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO)

Sub-conditions in MeSH (1)

MeSH descendants one level down with at least one trial, most trials first.

Not on this page

Not measured: delivery record.

Browse all condition evidence pages