Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Condition (MeSH)

Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome

ClinicalTrials.gov lists 357 trials for Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome or a narrower condition beneath it. National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 20.

MeSH D045169 Infections C01 C08 Listed by Orphanet as a rare disease
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

Phase 1 Phase 1 23 Phase 1/2 Phase 1/2 13 Phase 2 Phase 2 57 Phase 2/3 Phase 2/3 8 Phase 3 Phase 3 58 Phase 4 Phase 4 10 Not applicable Not applicable 52 Observational Observational 131 Phase 1 Phase 1 23 Phase 1/2 Phase 1/2 13 Phase 2 Phase 2 57 Phase 2/3 Phase 2/3 8 Phase 3 Phase 3 58 Phase 4 Phase 4 10 Not applicable Not applicable 52 Observational Observational 131

Trials per phase

1 more section with rows

357 of the 357 trials are tagged with Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.

Get the Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

When did Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome trials start? (13)

Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.

Trials over time, by phase

  • Phase 1
  • Phase 1/2
  • Phase 2
  • Phase 2/3
  • Phase 3
  • Phase 4
  • Not applicable
  • Observational

Top of scale: 225

2003: 2 trials (Observational 2) 2004: 1 trials (Phase 2 1) 2005: 2 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 1) 2009: 2 trials (Observational 2) 2016: 2 trials (Observational 1, Phase 3 1) 2018: 2 trials (Observational 1, Phase 2 1) 2020: 225 trials (Observational 89, Not applicable 35, Phase 4 5, Phase 3 34, Phase 2/3 5, Phase 2 39, Phase 1/2 10, Phase 1 8) 2021: 89 trials (Observational 30, Not applicable 13, Phase 4 3, Phase 3 21, Phase 2/3 2, Phase 2 12, Phase 1/2 2, Phase 1 6) 2022: 7 trials (Not applicable 1, Phase 3 2, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 1, Phase 1 2) 2023: 7 trials (Observational 1, Phase 4 1, Phase 2 1, Phase 1 4) 2024: 3 trials (Observational 1, Phase 2 1, Phase 1/2 1) 2025: 2 trials (Observational 2)

Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.

Trials started per year
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 3
2025 2
2024 3
2023 7
2022 7
2021 89
2020 225
2018 2
2016 2
2009 2

Forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included, not rows of this table: about 4 trials starting in 2026 and about 3 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The rows of this table count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. In backtests on conditions of this size, forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.

Prediction, not a registry value: median of 22 months from start to primary completion across 17 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 9 months across 251 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

What phase are Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome trials in? (9)

Shown in this order: phase order.

Show the trials by phase as a table
Trials by phase
Phase Trials
Phase 1 23
Phase 1/2 13
Phase 2 57
Phase 2/3 8
Phase 3 58
Phase 4 10
Not applicable 52
Observational 131
Expanded access 5

How many Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome trials are recruiting? (11)

Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.

Trials by recruitment status
Status Trials
Not yet recruiting 3
Recruiting 3
Enrolling by invitation 1
Active, not recruiting 1
Available 1

Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.

Which lead sponsors run the most Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome trials? (8)

Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.

Lead sponsors
Sponsor Trials
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) 20
CureVac 5
Institut Pasteur 5
Lahore General Hospital 5
Applied Biology, Inc. 4

Which drugs are being tested for Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome? (7)

Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.

Drugs tested
Drug Trials
Remdesivir 13
Ivermectin 5
Camostat 4
Corticosteroid 4
Vitamin C 4

Interventions as named in the registry (8)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Interventions as named in the registry
Drug Trials
Hydroxychloroquin 13
Convalesscent Plasma 6
Low dose losartan 4
CVnCoV Vaccine 4
tocilizumab SC 3

These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.

Which serious adverse events do Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome trials report? (10)

Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.

Serious adverse events in this condition's trials
Adverse event Subjects affected Trials
Respiratory failure 223 19
Death 203 5
COVID-19 pneumonia 166 10
Pneumothorax 88 18
Acute kidney injury 83 15

Which publications cover Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome? (373)

Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.

Prevalence (6)

Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.

Prevalence
Orphanet disease Type Class Geography Jurisdiction Mapping relation
Severe acute respiratory syndrome Point prevalence Unknown Worldwide Not stated Unspecified
Severe acute respiratory syndrome Point prevalence Unknown Worldwide Not stated Exact
Severe acute respiratory syndrome Annual incidence <1 / 1 000 000 Europe Not stated Exact
Severe acute respiratory syndrome Annual incidence <1 / 1 000 000 Europe Not stated Unspecified
Severe acute respiratory syndrome Point prevalence Unknown Worldwide Not stated Exact

Rare-disease identity (2)

Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.

Rare-disease identity
Orphanet disease ORPHA code Relation Source
Severe acute respiratory syndrome 140896 Exact Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1
Severe acute respiratory syndrome 140896 Exact Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO)

Not on this page

Not measured: delivery record.

Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: sub-conditions in mesh.

Browse all condition evidence pages