Condition (MeSH)
Acute Lung Injury
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 390 trials for Acute Lung Injury or a narrower condition beneath it.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase
1 more section with rows
380 of the 390 trials are tagged with Acute Lung Injury itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Acute Lung Injury trials start? (27)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 4 trials are registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 1/2
- Phase 2
- Phase 2/3
- Phase 3
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 41
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 28 |
| 2025 | 21 |
| 2024 | 22 |
| 2023 | 15 |
| 2022 | 17 |
| 2021 | 20 |
| 2020 | 41 |
| 2019 | 13 |
| 2018 | 10 |
| 2017 | 11 |
Showing 10 of 27 earlier years.
Forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included, not rows of this table: about 33 trials starting in 2026 and about 28 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward, with about 0.7 times the starts already registered for the rest of 2026 added. The rows of this table count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. In backtests on conditions of this size, forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 15 percent and ran about 1 percent high against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 26 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered. The part-way figures are from forecasts that used a multiple fitted only on earlier years. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.
Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 26 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 18 months across 238 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Acute Lung Injury trials in? (9)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 22 |
| Phase 1/2 | 16 |
| Phase 2 | 52 |
| Phase 2/3 | 11 |
| Phase 3 | 23 |
| Phase 4 | 12 |
| Not applicable | 111 |
| Observational | 140 |
| Expanded access | 3 |
How many Acute Lung Injury trials are recruiting? (9)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 23 |
| Recruiting | 42 |
| Enrolling by invitation | 2 |
| Active, not recruiting | 3 |
| Completed | 200 |
Showing 5 of 9 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Acute Lung Injury trials? (3)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| GlaxoSmithKline | 5 |
| National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) | 5 |
| PPD Development, LP | 4 |
Which drugs are being tested for Acute Lung Injury? (5)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Vitamin C | 6 |
| METHYLPREDNISOLONE | 4 |
| DEXMEDETOMIDINE | 3 |
| Sivelestat | 3 |
| (LMW)heparin | 3 |
Interventions as named in the registry (10)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| mechanical ventilation (MV) | 7 |
| Medicinal gas - oxygen (Nippon Gases 200 bar) | 3 |
| EC Aspirin | 2 |
| Cohort B: paridiprubart | 2 |
| TD-0903 | 2 |
Showing 5 of 10 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Acute Lung Injury trials report? (10)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Respiratory failure | 74 | 11 |
| Death | 64 | 6 |
| COVID-19 | 36 | 5 |
| Acute respiratory distress syndrome | 35 | 9 |
| Sepsis | 32 | 8 |
Showing 5 of 10 adverse events.
Which publications cover Acute Lung Injury? (387)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
Showing 5 of 387 publications.
Prevalence (12)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Acute lung injury | Annual incidence | 6-9 / 10 000 | United States | US | Exact |
| Acute lung injury | Annual incidence | 6-9 / 10 000 | United States | US | Exact |
| Acute lung injury | Annual incidence | 6-9 / 10 000 | United States | US | Unspecified |
| Acute lung injury | Annual incidence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Australia | Not stated | Exact |
| Acute lung injury | Point prevalence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
Showing 5 of 12 prevalence observations.
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acute lung injury | 178320 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
| Acute lung injury | 178320 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
Sub-conditions in MeSH (1)
MeSH descendants one level down with at least one trial, most trials first.
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.