Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Organization (Academic)

Nottingham Trent University

ClinicalTrials.gov lists Nottingham Trent University as lead sponsor of 30 trials. It has 6 active development programs and 1 approved asset.

GB Academic
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

10 0 2009 2026

Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.

2026 is partial: 2 registered with a 2026 start date. The dashed outline is the pace from the 2 registered with a start date through September, planned starts included, not adjusted; not a forecast. No forecast is made for this organization: it averages 3.8 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.

Logo Unknown author Unknown author, via Wikimedia Commons, Public domain. Shown to identify the organization; it may be a registered trademark.

This page covers Nottingham Trent University: 30 lead-sponsored trials and 1 legal-entity registration.

Get the Nottingham Trent University report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

Disease areas (53)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Disease areas
Disease area Trials
Obesity 8
Depression, Postpartum 4
Diabetes Mellitus 3
Inflammation 2
Insulin Resistance 2

Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (14)

Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.

Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 2
2025 2
2024 2
2023 10
2022 3
2021 6
2020 2
2019 5
2017 2
2015 2

Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 4 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

Active development programs (6)

Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.

Active development programs
Drug Disease area Max phase Trials
Treatment As Usual Depression, Postpartum Not reported 1
Treatment As Usual Bipolar Disorder Not reported 1
Beta-Alanine Diabetes Mellitus Not reported 1
Beta-Alanine Hyperglycemia Not reported 1
Beta-Alanine Obesity Not reported 1

Approved assets (1)

Approved assets
Drug Trials
Beta-Alanine 3

Sponsor delivery record (1)

Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Sponsor delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
43% hit target (n=7) 67% on time (n=6)

Journals published in (69)

Shown in this order: most published in first.

Journals published in
Journal Publications
The British journal of nutrition 6
Nutrients 5
Frontiers in psychiatry 4
Medicine and science in sports and exercise 4
The Journal of nutrition 4

US granted patents (1)

Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.

US granted patents
US patents granted Granted in the last 5 years Most recent grant
29 7 2025-11-18

Organization relationships (9)

Shown in this order: most evidence first.

Organization relationships
Related organization Relationship Evidence
National Institute for Health Research, United Kingdom Co sponsors trial with 2
University of Sheffield Co sponsors trial with 1
Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust Co sponsors trial with 1
Motilent Co sponsors trial with 1
Willows Health Co sponsors trial with 1

Latest dated events (70)

Shown in this order: newest first.

Latest dated events
Date Event Source
2026-07 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-05 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2025-11-18 Patent granted Granted US patents (PatentsView / USPTO)
2025-10-06 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2025-03 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))

Biomarker capability evidence (14)

Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.

Biomarker capability evidence
Gene Role Evidence
CTRL Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
EGFR Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
ERBB2 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
FBLN5 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
PGR Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria

Biomarkers this organization publishes on (480)

Shown in this order: most publications first.

Biomarkers this organization publishes on
Biomarker Publications
INS 9
IL6 8
TNF 7
CRP 6
KLRK1 5

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, sec-reported annual financials, financing and grant events, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.