Organization (Other)
Laureate Institute for Brain Research
ClinicalTrials.gov lists Laureate Institute for Brain Research as lead sponsor of 54 trials. It has 13 active development programs and 6 approved assets.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.
2026 is partial: 1 registered with a 2026 start date. The dashed outline is the pace from the 1 registered with a start date through September, planned starts included, not adjusted; not a forecast. No forecast is made for this organization: it averages 4.0 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
This page covers Laureate Institute for Brain Research: 54 lead-sponsored trials and 1 legal-entity registration.
Disease areas (23)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Disease area | Trials |
|---|---|
| Anxiety Disorders | 16 |
| Major Depressive Disorder | 12 |
| Feeding and Eating Disorders | 10 |
| Substance-Related Disorders | 8 |
| Anorexia Nervosa | 6 |
Showing 5 of 23 disease areas.
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (14)
Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 1 |
| 2025 | 4 |
| 2024 | 6 |
| 2023 | 4 |
| 2022 | 3 |
| 2021 | 6 |
| 2020 | 2 |
| 2019 | 5 |
| 2018 | 6 |
| 2017 | 4 |
Showing 10 of 14 years.
Prediction, not a registry value: median 36 months or more (the model's horizon) from start to primary completion across 9 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; 9 of 9 predicted trials reach the 36-month horizon; registered median of 33 months across 40 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
Active development programs (13)
Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.
| Drug | Disease area | Max phase | Trials |
|---|---|---|---|
| Endotoxin | Major Depressive Disorder | Phase 1/2 | 2 |
| Ibuprofen 800 mg | Bipolar Disorder | Phase 1/2 | 1 |
| Valganciclovir | Major Depressive Disorder | Phase 1/2 | 1 |
| Isoproterenol | Anorexia Nervosa | Not reported | 2 |
| Isoproterenol | Feeding and Eating Disorders | Not reported | 2 |
Showing 5 of 13 active programs.
Approved assets (6)
Shown in this order: max phase first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Lorazepam | 1 |
| MINOCYCLINE | 1 |
| Aspirin | 1 |
| IBUPROFEN | 1 |
| Valganciclovir | 1 |
Showing 5 of 6 approved assets.
Sponsor delivery record (1)
Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.
| Enrollment | Timeline |
|---|---|
| 55% hit target (n=33) | 48% on time (n=33) |
Journals published in (96)
Shown in this order: most published in first.
| Journal | Publications |
|---|---|
| PloS one | 12 |
| The American journal of psychiatry | 6 |
| The International journal of eating disorders | 5 |
| Biological psychiatry. Cognitive neuroscience and neuroimaging | 4 |
| Clinical psychology review | 4 |
Showing 5 of 96 journals.
US granted patents (1)
Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.
| US patents granted | Granted in the last 5 years | Most recent grant |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | 0 | 2019-02-26 |
Financing and grant events (64)
Shown in this order: most recent first.
| Date | Round type | Amount (USD) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-09-19 | NIH grant | 246,023 | Reporter |
| 2025-09-03 | NIH grant | 2,445,455 | Reporter |
| 2025-08-12 | NIH grant | 622,536 | Reporter |
| 2025-07-25 | NIH grant | 1,179,500 | Reporter |
| 2025-07-21 | NIH grant | 244,768 | Reporter |
Showing 5 of 64 events.
Latest dated events (122)
Shown in this order: newest first.
| Date | Event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-06-10 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2025-12-29 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2025-10-30 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2025-09-30 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2025-09-19 | NIH grant | Funding rounds and grants (NIH RePORTER + SEC EDGAR) |
Showing 5 of 122 events.
CLIA clinical laboratory certificates (1)
| Lab | Certificate | Status |
|---|---|---|
| LAUREATE INSTITUTE FOR BRAIN RESEARCH | Certificate of waiver | Active |
Biomarker capability evidence (57)
Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.
| Gene | Role | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| APELA | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| CREB3L1 | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| CREB3L1 | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| CREB3L1 | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| CREB3L1 | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
Showing 5 of 57 evidence rows.
Biomarkers this organization publishes on (110)
Shown in this order: most publications first.
Showing 5 of 110 biomarkers.
Not on this page
Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, sec-reported annual financials, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and organization relationships.