Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Organization (Academic)

Drexel University

ClinicalTrials.gov lists Drexel University as lead sponsor of 113 trials. It has 2 active development programs and 9 approved assets.

US Academic
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

17 0 1997 2027

Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.

2026 is partial: 10 registered with a 2026 start date. The hollow diamonds on the dashed line are a forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included: about 12 in 2026 and about 10 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The columns, the lighter one included, count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. This method has not been backtested on organizations. In backtests on conditions with as many trial starts a year as this organization (5 to 20), forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored. 2 trials are registered to start in 2027 or later.

Logo Bonechiller11, via Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0. Shown to identify the organization; it may be a registered trademark.

This page covers Drexel University: 113 lead-sponsored trials and 2 legal-entity registrations.

Related companies are recorded in the same corporate group by GLEIF, ROR or a curator but are not grouped here; they are listed below with their own counts and are not included in the figures above.

Get the Drexel University report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

Disease areas (121)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Disease areas
Disease area Trials
Obesity 32
Feeding and Eating Disorders 18
Autism Spectrum Disorder 16
Weight Loss 12
Bulimia Nervosa 11

Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (26)

Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 2 trials are registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.

Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 10
2025 8
2024 7
2023 8
2022 9
2021 17
2020 12
2019 11
2018 16
2017 13

Prediction, not a registry value: median 36 months or more (the model's horizon) from start to primary completion across 15 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; 9 of 15 predicted trials reach the 36-month horizon; registered median of 29 months across 76 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

Active development programs (2)

Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.

Active development programs
Drug Disease area Max phase Trials
Behavioral Treatment Obesity Not reported 1
Behavioral Treatment Weight Loss Not reported 1

Approved assets (9)

Shown in this order: max phase first.

Approved assets
Drug Trials
Methylnaltrexone 1
Lithium 1
Olanzapine 1
Sirolimus 1
Cefazolin 1

Sponsor delivery record (1)

Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Sponsor delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
40% hit target (n=45) 43% on time (n=40)

Journals published in (191)

Shown in this order: most published in first.

Journals published in
Journal Publications
Obesity (Silver Spring, Md.) 7
Annals of behavioral medicine : a publication of the Society of Behavioral Medicine 6
Journal of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry 6
Journal of the American Geriatrics Society 5
PloS one 5

US granted patents (1)

Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.

US granted patents
US patents granted Granted in the last 5 years Most recent grant
609 116 2025-10-07

Financing and grant events (747)

Shown in this order: most recent first.

Financing and grant events
Date Round type Amount (USD) Source
2025-09-22 NIH grant 436,979 Reporter
2025-09-22 NIH grant 318,608 Reporter
2025-09-19 NIH grant 2,028,527 Reporter
2025-09-17 NIH grant 49,538 Reporter
2025-09-17 NIH grant 3,726,027 Reporter

Organization relationships (23)

Shown in this order: most evidence first.

Organization relationships
Related organization Relationship Evidence
University of California System Co sponsors trial with 8
Government of the United States of America Co sponsors trial with 6
Duke University Co sponsors trial with 1
University System of Maryland Co sponsors trial with 1
Abbott Laboratories Co sponsors trial with 1

Latest dated events (1,543)

Shown in this order: newest first.

Latest dated events
Date Event Source
2027-03-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2027-01-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-11-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-09-04 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-07-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))

CLIA clinical laboratory certificates (1)

CLIA clinical laboratory certificates
Lab Certificate Status
DREXEL UNIVERSITY Certificate of waiver Active

Biomarker capability evidence (69)

Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.

Biomarker capability evidence
Gene Role Evidence
CCR5 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
CCR5 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
CD4 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
CD4 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
CD4 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria

Biomarkers this organization publishes on (189)

Shown in this order: most publications first.

Biomarkers this organization publishes on
Biomarker Publications
INS 15
IL6 11
CRP 8
TNF 8
APP 6

On Scientist.com

Drexel University is linked to 2 research suppliers in the Scientist.com network.

Source: Scientist.com supplier network

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, sec-reported annual financials, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, and workforce and board diversity, as filed.

Work with Salus University on Scientist.com

For prices, more details, or to contact Salus University, visit Scientist.com.

Sign in to Scientist.com to open this supplier in your organization's marketplace.