Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Organization (Academic)

Aalborg University

ClinicalTrials.gov lists Aalborg University as lead sponsor of 180 trials. It has 33 active development programs and 9 approved assets.

DK Academic
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

30 0 1993 2027

Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.

2026 is partial: 19 registered with a 2026 start date. The hollow diamonds on the dashed line are a forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included: about 24 in 2026 and about 20 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The columns, the lighter one included, count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. This method has not been backtested on organizations. In backtests on conditions with as many trial starts a year as this organization (20 to 100), forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 18 percent and ran about 14 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 26 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.

Logo Unknown author Unknown author, via Wikimedia Commons, Public domain. Shown to identify the organization; it may be a registered trademark.

This page covers Aalborg University: 180 lead-sponsored trials and 1 legal-entity registration.

Get the Aalborg University report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

Disease areas (185)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Disease areas
Disease area Trials
Pain 92
Pruritus 25
Chronic Pain 17
Back Pain 15
Low Back Pain 14

Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (24)

Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.

Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 19
2025 17
2024 24
2023 29
2022 27
2021 29
2020 29
2019 26
2018 30
2017 27

Prediction, not a registry value: median of 28 months from start to primary completion across 25 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 10 months across 119 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

Active development programs (33)

Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.

Active development programs
Drug Disease area Max phase Trials
Cowhage (Mucuna Pruriens) Pruritus Not reported 16
Histamine Pruritus Not reported 14
Cowhage (Mucuna Pruriens) Pain Not reported 5
Histamine Pain Not reported 3
Cowhage (Mucuna Pruriens) Sleep Deprivation Not reported 2

Approved assets (9)

Shown in this order: max phase first.

Approved assets
Drug Trials
Histamine 24
MORPHINE 3
Lidocaine 3
Capsaicin 2
Doxepin 2

Sponsor delivery record (1)

Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Sponsor delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
55% hit target (n=78) 44% on time (n=82)

Journals published in (353)

Shown in this order: most published in first.

Journals published in
Journal Publications
BMJ open 24
Pain 16
European journal of pain (London, England) 12
Trials 12
BMC musculoskeletal disorders 11

US granted patents (1)

Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.

US granted patents
US patents granted Granted in the last 5 years Most recent grant
44 15 2025-12-02

Organization relationships (57)

Shown in this order: most evidence first.

Organization relationships
Related organization Relationship Evidence
University of Aarhus Co sponsors trial with 9
University Hospital Bispebjerg and Frederiksberg Co sponsors trial with 2
TrygFonden, Denmark Co sponsors trial with 2
University College of Northern Denmark Co sponsors trial with 2
University of Kiel Co sponsors trial with 2

Latest dated events (368)

Shown in this order: newest first.

Latest dated events
Date Event Source
2026-09-21 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-09-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-09 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-08-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-08 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))

Biomarker capability evidence (58)

Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.

Biomarker capability evidence
Gene Role Evidence
AFDN Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
CRP Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
ERBB2 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
IDS Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
LBP Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria

Biomarkers this organization publishes on (435)

Shown in this order: most publications first.

Biomarkers this organization publishes on
Biomarker Publications
CRP 25
INS 21
IL6 15
TNF 12
IL10 10

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, sec-reported annual financials, financing and grant events, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.