Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Organization (Other)

University of Puerto Rico

ClinicalTrials.gov lists University of Puerto Rico as lead sponsor of 46 trials. It has 9 active development programs and 20 approved assets.

Other
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

10 0 2004 2027

Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.

2026 is partial: 5 registered with a 2026 start date. The hollow diamonds on the dashed line are a forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included: about 6 in 2026 and about 8 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The columns, the lighter one included, count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. This method has not been backtested on organizations. In backtests on conditions with as many trial starts a year as this organization (5 to 20), forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.

Logo University of Puerto Rico Uploaded by Artystyk386 at en.wikipedia, via Wikimedia Commons, Public domain. Shown to identify the organization; it may be a registered trademark.

This page covers University of Puerto Rico: 46 lead-sponsored trials and 0 legal-entity registrations.

Get the University of Puerto Rico report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

Disease areas (77)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Disease areas
Disease area Trials
HIV Infections 7
Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome 6
Colorectal Neoplasms 5
Obesity 5
Pain 5

Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (23)

Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.

Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 5
2025 10
2024 6
2023 9
2022 3
2021 6
2020 2
2019 3
2018 3
2017 3

Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 1 trial still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

Active development programs (9)

Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.

Active development programs
Drug Disease area Max phase Trials
METFORMIN Hyperpigmentation Phase 1/2 1
METFORMIN Melanosis Phase 1/2 1
Pericapsular Nerve Group (PENG) Block Agnosia Not reported 1
OxyCODONE 5 Mg (milligram) Oral Tablet Agnosia Not reported 1
Oxycodone 5mg taken first Agnosia Not reported 1

Approved assets (20)

Shown in this order: max phase first.

Approved assets
Drug Trials
Acetaminophen 3
MORPHINE 2
Intravenous morphine and oral oxycodone 1
Oxycodone and acetaminophen 1
Intravenous ketorolac and oral acetaminophen 1

Sponsor delivery record (1)

Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Sponsor delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
40% hit target (n=10) 33% on time (n=9)

Journals published in (163)

Shown in this order: most published in first.

Journals published in
Journal Publications
Clinical infectious diseases : an official publication of the Infectious Diseases Society of America 8
Journal of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry 4
Puerto Rico health sciences journal 4
American journal of orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics : official publication of the American Association of Orthodontists, its constituent societies, and the American Board of Orthodontics 3
Annals of surgery 3

US granted patents (1)

Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.

US granted patents
US patents granted Granted in the last 5 years Most recent grant
116 21 2025-05-13

Financing and grant events (2)

Shown in this order: most recent first.

Financing and grant events
Date Round type Amount (USD) Source
2023-09-12 NIH grant 7,897,996 Reporter
2020-01-01 NIH grant 3,911,367 Reporter

Organization relationships (3)

Shown in this order: most evidence first.

Organization relationships
Related organization Relationship Evidence
Weill Medical College of Cornell University Co sponsors trial with 2
University of Massachusetts, Worcester Co sponsors trial with 1
Children's Hospital and Health System Foundation, Wisconsin Co sponsors trial with 1

Latest dated events (197)

Shown in this order: newest first.

Latest dated events
Date Event Source
2026-10-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-09 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-08-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-04-30 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-02-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))

Biomarker capability evidence (42)

Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.

Biomarker capability evidence
Gene Role Evidence
BAG1 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
CD4 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
CD4 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
CD4 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
FAP Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, sec-reported annual financials, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, clia clinical laboratory certificates, and biomarkers this organization publishes on.