Organization (Academic)
University of Glasgow
ClinicalTrials.gov lists University of Glasgow as lead sponsor of 147 trials, counting the companies grouped under it. University of Glasgow itself has 18 active development programs and 22 approved assets.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. Companies grouped under this one are not included. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.
2026 is partial: 15 registered with a 2026 start date. The hollow diamonds on the dashed line are a forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included: about 19 in 2026 and about 20 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The columns, the lighter one included, count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. This method has not been backtested on organizations. In backtests on conditions with as many trial starts a year as this organization (20 to 100), forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 18 percent and ran about 14 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 26 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.
This page covers University of Glasgow and 1 company grouped under it: 147 lead-sponsored trials (145 its own, 2 in the grouped companies) and 2 legal-entity registrations (1 its own, 1 in the grouped companies).
Companies grouped under this page (1)
| Company | Lead trials | Legal entities |
|---|---|---|
| Scottish Universities Environmental Research Centre | 2 | 1 |
Disease areas (254)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Disease area | Trials |
|---|---|
| Stroke | 27 |
| Obesity | 20 |
| Diabetes Mellitus | 19 |
| Coronary Disease | 18 |
| Heart Failure | 18 |
Showing 5 of 254 disease areas.
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (29)
Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 15 |
| 2025 | 23 |
| 2024 | 21 |
| 2023 | 33 |
| 2022 | 24 |
| 2021 | 31 |
| 2020 | 21 |
| 2019 | 26 |
| 2018 | 26 |
| 2017 | 32 |
Showing 10 of 29 years.
Prediction, not a registry value: median of 28 months from start to primary completion across 15 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 16 months across 70 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
Active development programs (18)
Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.
| Drug | Disease area | Max phase | Trials |
|---|---|---|---|
| Krill oil | Sarcopenia | Not reported | 4 |
| Krill oil | Muscular Atrophy | Not reported | 4 |
| Standard of Care Therapy | Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension | Not reported | 1 |
| Standard of Care Therapy | Hypertension, Pulmonary | Not reported | 1 |
| Standard of Care Therapy | Hypertension | Not reported | 1 |
Showing 5 of 18 active programs.
Approved assets (22)
Shown in this order: max phase first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Rosiglitazone | 3 |
| Treatment As Usual | 2 |
| etanercept or adalimumab | 1 |
| Duraphat fluoride varnish | 1 |
| RITUXIMAB | 1 |
Showing 5 of 22 approved assets.
Sponsor delivery record (1)
Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.
| Enrollment | Timeline |
|---|---|
| 61% hit target (n=31) | 39% on time (n=31) |
Journals published in (453)
Shown in this order: most published in first.
| Journal | Publications |
|---|---|
| BMJ open | 30 |
| Lancet (London, England) | 28 |
| Circulation | 21 |
| European heart journal | 21 |
| PloS one | 20 |
Showing 5 of 453 journals.
US granted patents (1)
Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.
| US patents granted | Granted in the last 5 years | Most recent grant |
|---|---|---|
| 8 | 1 | 2023-11-14 |
Financing and grant events (7)
Shown in this order: most recent first.
| Date | Round type | Amount (USD) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-05-10 | NIH grant | 855,677 | Reporter |
| 2024-08-19 | NIH grant | 56,018 | Reporter |
| 2024-07-05 | NIH grant | 884,501 | Reporter |
| 2023-09-14 | NIH grant | 890,208 | Reporter |
| 2023-07-31 | NIH grant | 87,759 | Reporter |
Showing 5 of 7 events.
Organization relationships (140)
Shown in this order: most evidence first.
| Related organization | Relationship | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde | Co sponsors trial with | 38 |
| Newcastle University | Co sponsors trial with | 6 |
| University of Cambridge | Co sponsors trial with | 5 |
| Imperial College London | Co sponsors trial with | 4 |
| NHS Ayrshire and Arran | Co sponsors trial with | 4 |
Showing 5 of 140 relationships.
Latest dated events (409)
Shown in this order: newest first.
| Date | Event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-09 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-09 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-09-01 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-07 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
Showing 5 of 409 events.
Biomarker capability evidence (231)
Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.
| Gene | Role | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| ABL1 | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| ALB | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| APOH | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| APOH | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| ARC | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
Showing 5 of 231 evidence rows.
Biomarkers this organization publishes on (1,992)
Shown in this order: most publications first.
Showing 5 of 1,992 biomarkers.
On Scientist.com
University of Glasgow is listed as a research supplier in the Scientist.com network.
Not on this page
Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: related companies not grouped here, sec-reported annual financials, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.
Work with University of Glasgow IBAHCM Scottish Centre for Ecology and the Natural Environment on Scientist.com
For prices, more details, or to contact University of Glasgow IBAHCM Scottish Centre for Ecology and the Natural Environment, visit Scientist.com.
Sign in to Scientist.com to open this supplier in your organization's marketplace.