Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Organization (Other)

Laureate Institute for Brain Research

ClinicalTrials.gov lists Laureate Institute for Brain Research as lead sponsor of 54 trials. It has 13 active development programs and 6 approved assets.

US Other
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

8 0 2011 2026

Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.

2026 is partial: 1 registered with a 2026 start date. The dashed outline is the pace from the 1 registered with a start date through September, planned starts included, not adjusted; not a forecast. No forecast is made for this organization: it averages 4.0 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.

This page covers Laureate Institute for Brain Research: 54 lead-sponsored trials and 1 legal-entity registration.

Get the Laureate Institute for Brain Research report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

Disease areas (23)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Disease areas
Disease area Trials
Anxiety Disorders 16
Major Depressive Disorder 12
Feeding and Eating Disorders 10
Substance-Related Disorders 8
Anorexia Nervosa 6

Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (14)

Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.

Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 1
2025 4
2024 6
2023 4
2022 3
2021 6
2020 2
2019 5
2018 6
2017 4

Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 9 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 33 months across 40 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

Active development programs (13)

Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.

Active development programs
Drug Disease area Max phase Trials
Endotoxin Major Depressive Disorder Phase 1/2 2
Ibuprofen 800 mg Bipolar Disorder Phase 1/2 1
Valganciclovir Major Depressive Disorder Phase 1/2 1
Isoproterenol Anorexia Nervosa Not reported 2
Isoproterenol Feeding and Eating Disorders Not reported 2

Approved assets (6)

Shown in this order: max phase first.

Approved assets
Drug Trials
Lorazepam 1
MINOCYCLINE 1
Aspirin 1
IBUPROFEN 1
Valganciclovir 1

Sponsor delivery record (1)

Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Sponsor delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
55% hit target (n=33) 48% on time (n=33)

Journals published in (96)

Shown in this order: most published in first.

Journals published in
Journal Publications
PloS one 12
The American journal of psychiatry 6
The International journal of eating disorders 5
Biological psychiatry. Cognitive neuroscience and neuroimaging 4
Clinical psychology review 4

US granted patents (1)

Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.

US granted patents
US patents granted Granted in the last 5 years Most recent grant
1 0 2019-02-26

Financing and grant events (64)

Shown in this order: most recent first.

Financing and grant events
Date Round type Amount (USD) Source
2025-09-19 NIH grant 246,023 Reporter
2025-09-03 NIH grant 2,445,455 Reporter
2025-08-12 NIH grant 622,536 Reporter
2025-07-25 NIH grant 1,179,500 Reporter
2025-07-21 NIH grant 244,768 Reporter

Latest dated events (122)

Shown in this order: newest first.

Latest dated events
Date Event Source
2026-06-10 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2025-12-29 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2025-10-30 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2025-09-30 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2025-09-19 NIH grant Funding rounds and grants (NIH RePORTER + SEC EDGAR)

CLIA clinical laboratory certificates (1)

CLIA clinical laboratory certificates
Lab Certificate Status
LAUREATE INSTITUTE FOR BRAIN RESEARCH Certificate of waiver Active

Biomarker capability evidence (57)

Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.

Biomarker capability evidence
Gene Role Evidence
APELA Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
CREB3L1 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
CREB3L1 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
CREB3L1 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
CREB3L1 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria

Biomarkers this organization publishes on (110)

Shown in this order: most publications first.

Biomarkers this organization publishes on
Biomarker Publications
CRP 8
IL6 8
TNF 6
IFNG 4
IL1A 4

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, sec-reported annual financials, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and organization relationships.