
Organization (Academic)
Drexel University
ClinicalTrials.gov lists Drexel University as lead sponsor of 113 trials. It has 2 active development programs and 9 approved assets.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.
2026 is partial: 10 registered with a 2026 start date. The hollow diamonds on the dashed line are a forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included: about 12 in 2026 and about 10 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The columns, the lighter one included, count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. This method has not been backtested on organizations. In backtests on conditions with as many trial starts a year as this organization (5 to 20), forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored. 2 trials are registered to start in 2027 or later.
Logo Bonechiller11, via Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0. Shown to identify the organization; it may be a registered trademark.
This page covers Drexel University: 113 lead-sponsored trials and 2 legal-entity registrations.
Related companies are recorded in the same corporate group by GLEIF, ROR or a curator but are not grouped here; they are listed below with their own counts and are not included in the figures above.
Disease areas (121)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Disease area | Trials |
|---|---|
| Obesity | 32 |
| Feeding and Eating Disorders | 18 |
| Autism Spectrum Disorder | 16 |
| Weight Loss | 12 |
| Bulimia Nervosa | 11 |
Showing 5 of 121 disease areas.
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (26)
Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 2 trials are registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.
Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 10 |
| 2025 | 8 |
| 2024 | 7 |
| 2023 | 8 |
| 2022 | 9 |
| 2021 | 17 |
| 2020 | 12 |
| 2019 | 11 |
| 2018 | 16 |
| 2017 | 13 |
Showing 10 of 26 years.
Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 15 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 29 months across 76 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
Active development programs (2)
Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.
| Drug | Disease area | Max phase | Trials |
|---|---|---|---|
| Behavioral Treatment | Obesity | Not reported | 1 |
| Behavioral Treatment | Weight Loss | Not reported | 1 |
Approved assets (9)
Shown in this order: max phase first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Methylnaltrexone | 1 |
| Lithium | 1 |
| Olanzapine | 1 |
| Sirolimus | 1 |
| Cefazolin | 1 |
Showing 5 of 9 approved assets.
Sponsor delivery record (1)
Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.
| Enrollment | Timeline |
|---|---|
| 40% hit target (n=45) | 43% on time (n=40) |
Journals published in (191)
Shown in this order: most published in first.
| Journal | Publications |
|---|---|
| Obesity (Silver Spring, Md.) | 7 |
| Annals of behavioral medicine : a publication of the Society of Behavioral Medicine | 6 |
| Journal of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry | 6 |
| Journal of the American Geriatrics Society | 5 |
| PloS one | 5 |
Showing 5 of 191 journals.
US granted patents (1)
Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.
| US patents granted | Granted in the last 5 years | Most recent grant |
|---|---|---|
| 609 | 116 | 2025-10-07 |
Financing and grant events (747)
Shown in this order: most recent first.
| Date | Round type | Amount (USD) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-09-22 | NIH grant | 436,979 | Reporter |
| 2025-09-22 | NIH grant | 318,608 | Reporter |
| 2025-09-19 | NIH grant | 2,028,527 | Reporter |
| 2025-09-17 | NIH grant | 49,538 | Reporter |
| 2025-09-17 | NIH grant | 3,726,027 | Reporter |
Showing 5 of 747 events.
Organization relationships (23)
Shown in this order: most evidence first.
| Related organization | Relationship | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| University of California System | Co sponsors trial with | 8 |
| Government of the United States of America | Co sponsors trial with | 6 |
| Duke University | Co sponsors trial with | 1 |
| University System of Maryland | Co sponsors trial with | 1 |
| Abbott Laboratories | Co sponsors trial with | 1 |
Showing 5 of 23 relationships.
Latest dated events (1,543)
Shown in this order: newest first.
| Date | Event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2027-03-01 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2027-01-01 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-11-01 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-09-04 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-07-01 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
Showing 5 of 1,543 events.
CLIA clinical laboratory certificates (1)
| Lab | Certificate | Status |
|---|---|---|
| DREXEL UNIVERSITY | Certificate of waiver | Active |
Biomarker capability evidence (69)
Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.
| Gene | Role | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| CCR5 | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| CCR5 | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| CD4 | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| CD4 | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| CD4 | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
Showing 5 of 69 evidence rows.
Biomarkers this organization publishes on (189)
Shown in this order: most publications first.
Showing 5 of 189 biomarkers.
On Scientist.com
Drexel University is linked to 2 research suppliers in the Scientist.com network.
Not on this page
Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, sec-reported annual financials, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, and workforce and board diversity, as filed.
Work with Salus University on Scientist.com
For prices, more details, or to contact Salus University, visit Scientist.com.
Sign in to Scientist.com to open this supplier in your organization's marketplace.