Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Organization (Academic)

University of Aberdeen

ClinicalTrials.gov lists University of Aberdeen as lead sponsor of 175 trials. It has 17 active development programs and 11 approved assets.

GB Academic
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

20 0 2001 2027

Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.

2026 is partial: 12 registered with a 2026 start date. The hollow diamonds on the dashed line are a forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included: about 12 in 2026 and about 12 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The columns, the lighter one included, count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. This method has not been backtested on organizations. In backtests on conditions with as many trial starts a year as this organization (5 to 20), forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.

This page covers University of Aberdeen: 175 lead-sponsored trials and 2 legal-entity registrations.

Get the University of Aberdeen report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

Disease areas (173)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Disease areas
Disease area Trials
Diabetes Mellitus 14
Obesity 14
Pain 12
Diabetes Mellitus, Type 2 9
Asthma 8

Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (25)

Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.

Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 12
2025 12
2024 12
2023 20
2022 16
2021 14
2020 8
2019 15
2018 11
2017 20

Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 10 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 17 months across 134 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

Active development programs (17)

Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.

Active development programs
Drug Disease area Max phase Trials
Semaglutide plus a personalised and supervised program of resistance and endurance training Diabetes Mellitus, Type 2 Not reported 1
Anhydrous glucose Hyperglycemia Not reported 1
Positron Emission Tomography (PET) Alzheimer Disease Not reported 1
Positron Emission Tomography (PET) Dementia Not reported 1
Semaglutide plus a personalised and supervised program of resistance and endurance training Diabetes Mellitus Not reported 1

Approved assets (11)

Shown in this order: max phase first.

Approved assets
Drug Trials
(R,S)-ketamine (Pilot I) 1
PROPOFOL 1
ISOtretinoin 1
Nitrite 1
Perhexiline 1

Sponsor delivery record (1)

Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Sponsor delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
43% hit target (n=70) 39% on time (n=69)

Journals published in (402)

Shown in this order: most published in first.

Journals published in
Journal Publications
Circulation 19
The American journal of clinical nutrition 19
Journal of the American College of Cardiology 13
Lancet (London, England) 13
BMJ open 12

US granted patents (1)

Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.

US granted patents
US patents granted Granted in the last 5 years Most recent grant
3 0 2010-11-30

Organization relationships (43)

Shown in this order: most evidence first.

Organization relationships
Related organization Relationship Evidence
University of London Co sponsors trial with 7
NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde Co sponsors trial with 2
University of California System Co sponsors trial with 2
NHS Lothian Co sponsors trial with 2
SEAMEO Regional Centre for Food and Nutrition Co sponsors trial with 2

Latest dated events (231)

Shown in this order: newest first.

Latest dated events
Date Event Source
2026-12 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-12 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-10-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-06-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-05-11 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))

Biomarker capability evidence (102)

Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.

Biomarker capability evidence
Gene Role Evidence
APOH Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
APOH Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
BRCA1 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
BRCA1 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
CDIPT Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria

Biomarkers this organization publishes on (743)

Shown in this order: most publications first.

Biomarkers this organization publishes on
Biomarker Publications
INS 25
CRP 21
IL6 18
EGFR 11
IL1B 10

On Scientist.com

University of Aberdeen is linked to 5 research suppliers in the Scientist.com network.

Source: Scientist.com supplier network

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, sec-reported annual financials, financing and grant events, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.

Work with University of Aberdeen SoNCS Trace Element Speciation Laboratory on Scientist.com

For prices, more details, or to contact University of Aberdeen SoNCS Trace Element Speciation Laboratory, visit Scientist.com.

Sign in to Scientist.com to open this supplier in your organization's marketplace.