Condition (MeSH)
Esophageal Squamous Cell Carcinoma
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 621 trials for Esophageal Squamous Cell Carcinoma or a narrower condition beneath it.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase (log scale)
621 of the 621 trials are tagged with Esophageal Squamous Cell Carcinoma itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Esophageal Squamous Cell Carcinoma trials start? (33)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 1/2
- Phase 2
- Phase 2/3
- Phase 3
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 65
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 65 |
| 2025 | 51 |
| 2024 | 65 |
| 2023 | 51 |
| 2022 | 50 |
| 2021 | 37 |
| 2020 | 50 |
| 2019 | 45 |
| 2018 | 23 |
| 2017 | 26 |
Showing 10 of 33 earlier years.
Forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included, not rows of this table: about 80 trials starting in 2026 and about 64 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward, with about 0.7 times the starts already registered for the rest of 2026 added. The rows of this table count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. In backtests on conditions of this size, forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 15 percent and ran about 1 percent high against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 26 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered. The part-way figures are from forecasts that used a multiple fitted only on earlier years. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.
Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 138 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 39 months across 225 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Esophageal Squamous Cell Carcinoma trials in? (8)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 72 |
| Phase 1/2 | 40 |
| Phase 2 | 297 |
| Phase 2/3 | 15 |
| Phase 3 | 64 |
| Phase 4 | 2 |
| Not applicable | 49 |
| Observational | 82 |
How many Esophageal Squamous Cell Carcinoma trials are recruiting? (9)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 60 |
| Recruiting | 143 |
| Enrolling by invitation | 8 |
| Active, not recruiting | 41 |
| Completed | 169 |
Showing 5 of 9 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which drugs are being tested for Esophageal Squamous Cell Carcinoma? (7)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| (nab)-paclitaxel | 52 |
| PEMBROLIZUMAB | 31 |
| Irinotecan | 29 |
| OXALIPLATIN | 24 |
| TORIPALIMAB | 21 |
Showing 5 of 7 drugs.
Interventions as named in the registry (8)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Cisplatin 1 | 73 |
| Fluorouracile | 49 |
| Radiation Therapy | 38 |
| Radiotherapy | 36 |
| or carboplatin | 26 |
Showing 5 of 8 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Esophageal Squamous Cell Carcinoma trials report? (10)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Pneumonia | 267 | 15 |
| Dysphagia | 171 | 20 |
| Neutrophil count decreased | 112 | 11 |
| Vomiting | 99 | 19 |
| Nausea | 95 | 15 |
Showing 5 of 10 adverse events.
Which publications cover Esophageal Squamous Cell Carcinoma? (330)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
Showing 5 of 330 publications.
Prevalence (28)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Squamous cell carcinoma of the esophagus | Annual incidence | 1-9 / 100 000 | United Kingdom | GB | Unspecified |
| Squamous cell carcinoma of the esophagus | Annual incidence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Malta | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Squamous cell carcinoma of the esophagus | Annual incidence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Belgium | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Squamous cell carcinoma of the esophagus | Annual incidence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Germany | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Squamous cell carcinoma of the esophagus | Annual incidence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Slovakia | Not stated | Unspecified |
Showing 5 of 28 prevalence observations.
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: lead sponsors, rare-disease identity, and sub-conditions in mesh.