Condition (MeSH)
Mesothelioma
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 560 trials for Mesothelioma or a narrower condition beneath it. National Cancer Institute (NCI) has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 51.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase (log scale)
1 more section with rows
292 of the 560 trials are tagged with Mesothelioma itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Mesothelioma trials start? (34)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 1/2
- Phase 2
- Phase 2/3
- Phase 3
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 38
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 17 |
| 2025 | 16 |
| 2024 | 32 |
| 2023 | 31 |
| 2022 | 31 |
| 2021 | 32 |
| 2020 | 26 |
| 2019 | 38 |
| 2018 | 25 |
| 2017 | 25 |
Showing 10 of 34 earlier years.
Forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included, not rows of this table: about 21 trials starting in 2026 and about 18 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward, with about 0.7 times the starts already registered for the rest of 2026 added. The rows of this table count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. In backtests on conditions of this size, forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 15 percent and ran about 1 percent high against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 26 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered. The part-way figures are from forecasts that used a multiple fitted only on earlier years. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.
Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 74 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 41 months across 349 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Mesothelioma trials in? (9)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 159 |
| Phase 1/2 | 76 |
| Phase 2 | 169 |
| Phase 2/3 | 5 |
| Phase 3 | 21 |
| Phase 4 | 5 |
| Not applicable | 44 |
| Observational | 79 |
| Expanded access | 2 |
How many Mesothelioma trials are recruiting? (11)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 13 |
| Recruiting | 75 |
| Enrolling by invitation | 3 |
| Active, not recruiting | 35 |
| Completed | 249 |
Showing 5 of 11 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Mesothelioma trials? (6)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| National Cancer Institute (NCI) | 51 |
| Eli Lilly and Company | 7 |
| European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTC | 7 |
| Novartis Pharmaceuticals | 7 |
| Bayer | 5 |
Showing 5 of 6 sponsors.
Which drugs are being tested for Mesothelioma? (5)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| PEMBROLIZUMAB | 33 |
| NIVOLUMAB | 22 |
| Cytoxan | 15 |
| IPILIMUMAB | 11 |
| DURVALUMAB | 6 |
Interventions as named in the registry (10)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Cisplatin 1 | 55 |
| Pemetrexe | 40 |
| Gemcitabine/Gemzar | 18 |
| Pemetrexed Disodium Injection | 11 |
| or carboplatin | 10 |
Showing 5 of 10 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Mesothelioma trials report? (10)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Dyspnoea | 226 | 24 |
| Malignant neoplasm progression | 189 | 8 |
| Pneumonia | 177 | 31 |
| Pyrexia | 144 | 24 |
| Anaemia | 139 | 21 |
Showing 5 of 10 adverse events.
Which publications cover Mesothelioma? (294)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Outcome prediction based on [18F]FDG PET/CT in patients with pleural mesothelioma treated with ipilimumab and nivolumab +/- UV1 telomerase vaccine. | European journal of nuclear medicine and molecular imaging | 2025 | Yes |
| Soluble mesothelin-related peptide as a prognosticator in pleural mesothelioma patients receiving checkpoint immunotherapy. | The Journal of thoracic and cardiovascular surgery | 2025 | Yes |
| Emerging Radiopharmaceuticals in Pet Imaging for Mesothelioma: A Review of [<sup>18</sup>F]FDG Alternatives. | Molecular diagnosis & therapy | 2025 | Yes |
| Comprehensive reanalysis of light fluence distribution in pleural photodynamic therapy using standardized anatomical coordinates. | Photochemistry and photobiology | 2025 | Yes |
| KEYNOTE-A17: First-Line Pembrolizumab Plus Cisplatin-Pemetrexed in Japanese Participants With Advanced Pleural Mesothelioma. | Cancer science | 2025 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 294 publications.
Prevalence (8)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pleural mesothelioma | Annual incidence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | France | Not stated | Exact |
| Pleural mesothelioma | Annual incidence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
| Pleural mesothelioma | Annual incidence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | France | Not stated | Exact |
| Pleural mesothelioma | Annual incidence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
| Pleural mesothelioma | Annual incidence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
Showing 5 of 8 prevalence observations.
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pleural mesothelioma | 50251 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
| Pleural mesothelioma | 50251 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
Sub-conditions in MeSH (2)
MeSH descendants one level down with at least one trial, most trials first.
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.