Condition (MeSH)
Plague
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 12 trials for Plague or a narrower condition beneath it.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase
12 of the 12 trials are tagged with Plague itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Plague trials start? (8)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 2
- Phase 2/3
- Phase 3
- Observational
Top of scale: 3
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 1 |
| 2022 | 1 |
| 2020 | 3 |
| 2014 | 1 |
| 2012 | 1 |
| 2010 | 2 |
| 2005 | 1 |
| 2004 | 2 |
No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 0.2 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: none of the 12 trials evaluated at the 2026-10-09 snapshot is predicted and still running. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Plague trials in? (5)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 3 |
| Phase 2 | 5 |
| Phase 2/3 | 1 |
| Phase 3 | 1 |
| Observational | 2 |
How many Plague trials are recruiting? (3)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 1 |
| Completed | 9 |
| Unknown status | 2 |
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Plague trials? (7)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| Centers for Disease Control and Prevention | 2 |
| DynPort Vaccine Company LLC, A GDIT Company | 2 |
| Jiangsu Province Centers for Disease Control and Prevention | 2 |
| Brimrose Technology Corporation | 1 |
| Dynavax Technologies Corporation | 1 |
Showing 5 of 7 sponsors.
Which drugs are being tested for Plague? (3)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Plague vaccine | 2 |
| Streptomycin | 2 |
| Aluminum hydroxide | 1 |
Interventions as named in the registry (7)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| rF1V vaccine | 3 |
| PO ciprofloxacin | 2 |
| Gentamicins | 2 |
| rF1V-1018 | 1 |
| rF1 and rV protein antigens | 1 |
Showing 5 of 7 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Plague trials report? (6)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Appendicitis | 1 | 1 |
| Complicated Appendicitis | 1 | 1 |
| Cor Pulmonale Acute | 1 | 1 |
| Deep Vein Thrombosis | 1 | 1 |
| Pulmonary Embolism | 1 | 1 |
Showing 5 of 6 adverse events.
Which publications cover Plague? (12)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ciprofloxacin versus Aminoglycoside-Ciprofloxacin for Bubonic Plague. | The New England journal of medicine | 2025 | Yes |
| An open-label, randomized, non-inferiority trial of the efficacy and safety of ciprofloxacin versus streptomycin + ciprofloxacin in the treatment of bubonic plague (IMASOY): study protocol for a randomized control trial. | Trials | 2020 | Yes |
| One year immunogenicity and safety of subunit plague vaccine in Chinese healthy adults: An extended open-label study. | Human vaccines & immunotherapeutics | 2018 | Yes |
| The origin of Behçet's disease geoepidemiology: possible role of a dual microbial-driven genetic selection. | Clinical and experimental rheumatology | 2014 | Yes |
| Understanding the persistence of plague foci in Madagascar. | PLoS neglected tropical diseases | 2013 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 12 publications.
Prevalence (15)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plague | Cases families | South East Asia | Not stated | Exact | |
| Plague | Cases families | Latin America | Not stated | Unspecified | |
| Plague | Point prevalence | Unknown | Worldwide | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Plague | Cases families | South East Asia | Not stated | Exact | |
| Plague | Cases families | Latin America | Not stated | Exact |
Showing 5 of 15 prevalence observations.
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plague | 707 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
| Plague | 707 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: sub-conditions in mesh.