Condition (MeSH)
Retinoblastoma
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 117 trials for Retinoblastoma or a narrower condition beneath it.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase (log scale)
1 more section with rows
117 of the 117 trials are tagged with Retinoblastoma itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Retinoblastoma trials start? (33)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 1/2
- Phase 2
- Phase 2/3
- Phase 3
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 8
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 2 |
| 2025 | 2 |
| 2024 | 2 |
| 2023 | 2 |
| 2022 | 5 |
| 2021 | 7 |
| 2020 | 8 |
| 2019 | 4 |
| 2018 | 7 |
| 2017 | 4 |
Showing 10 of 33 earlier years.
No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 2.8 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 13 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 58 months across 65 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Retinoblastoma trials in? (9)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 25 |
| Phase 1/2 | 2 |
| Phase 2 | 27 |
| Phase 2/3 | 1 |
| Phase 3 | 6 |
| Phase 4 | 3 |
| Not applicable | 17 |
| Observational | 35 |
| Expanded access | 1 |
How many Retinoblastoma trials are recruiting? (9)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 1 |
| Recruiting | 19 |
| Enrolling by invitation | 2 |
| Active, not recruiting | 8 |
| Completed | 48 |
Showing 5 of 9 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Retinoblastoma trials? (3)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| Children's Oncology Group | 5 |
| National Cancer Institute (NCI) | 5 |
| Fondation Ophtalmologique Adolphe de Rothschild | 2 |
Which drugs are being tested for Retinoblastoma? (7)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Melphalan | 12 |
| TOPOTECAN | 9 |
| Cytoxan | 8 |
| Thiotepa | 7 |
| G-CSF | 4 |
Showing 5 of 7 drugs.
Interventions as named in the registry (8)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| or carboplatin | 19 |
| Etoposid | 14 |
| Filgrastime (G-CSF) | 12 |
| Vincristina | 10 |
| Peripheral blood stem cell transplantation | 4 |
Showing 5 of 8 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Retinoblastoma trials report? (10)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| central nervous system metastasis | 12 | 1 |
| Neutrophil count decreased | 10 | 2 |
| Vomiting | 9 | 4 |
| Allergic reaction/hypersensitivity (including drug fever) | 8 | 1 |
| Alanine aminotransferase increased | 6 | 2 |
Showing 5 of 10 adverse events.
Which publications cover Retinoblastoma? (128)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Digital retinoblastoma documentation supports care and research. | Canadian journal of ophthalmology. Journal canadien d'ophtalmologie | 2025 | Yes |
| Ruthenium-106 (<sup>106</sup>Ru) plaque brachytherapy as salvage treatment for retinoblastoma following intravenous chemotherapy. | Brachytherapy | 2025 | Yes |
| A retrospective study on ruthenium-106 and strontium-90 eye-plaques treatment for retinoblastoma: 16-years clinical experience. | Brachytherapy | 2025 | Yes |
| Retinoblastoma in Asia: Clinical Presentation and Treatment Outcomes in 2112 Patients from 33 Countries. | Ophthalmology | 2024 | Yes |
| Three vs 6 Cycles of Chemotherapy for High-Risk Retinoblastoma: A Randomized Clinical Trial. | JAMA | 2024 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 128 publications.
Prevalence (87)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retinoblastoma | Annual incidence | <1 / 1 000 000 | United Kingdom | GB | Exact |
| Retinoblastoma | Annual incidence | <1 / 1 000 000 | United Kingdom | GB | Unspecified |
| Retinoblastoma | Annual incidence | <1 / 1 000 000 | United Kingdom | GB | Exact |
| Retinoblastoma | Annual incidence | <1 / 1 000 000 | Ireland | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Retinoblastoma | Annual incidence | <1 / 1 000 000 | Switzerland | Not stated | Exact |
Showing 5 of 87 prevalence observations.
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Retinoblastoma | 790 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
| Retinoblastoma | 790 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: sub-conditions in mesh.