Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Condition (MeSH)

Leukemia, Lymphocytic, Chronic, B-Cell

ClinicalTrials.gov lists 2,015 trials for Leukemia, Lymphocytic, Chronic, B-Cell or a narrower condition beneath it. National Cancer Institute (NCI) has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 134.

MeSH D015451 Neoplasms Neoplasm C04 C15 C20 C23 Listed by Orphanet as a rare disease
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

Phase 1 Phase 1 573 Phase 1/2 Phase 1/2 236 Phase 2 Phase 2 676 Phase 2/3 Phase 2/3 7 Phase 3 Phase 3 168 Phase 4 Phase 4 16 Not applicable Not applicable 110 Observational Observational 222 Phase 1 Phase 1 573 Phase 1/2 Phase 1/2 236 Phase 2 Phase 2 676 Phase 2/3 Phase 2/3 7 Phase 3 Phase 3 168 Phase 4 Phase 4 16 Not applicable Not applicable 110 Observational Observational 222

Trials per phase (log scale)

2 more sections with rows

2,015 of the 2,015 trials are tagged with Leukemia, Lymphocytic, Chronic, B-Cell itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.

Get the Leukemia, Lymphocytic, Chronic, B-Cell report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

When did Leukemia, Lymphocytic, Chronic, B-Cell trials start? (37)

Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 2 trials are registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.

Trials over time, by phase

  • Phase 1
  • Phase 1/2
  • Phase 2
  • Phase 2/3
  • Phase 3
  • Phase 4
  • Not applicable
  • Observational
  • Other (Expanded access, Unknown)

Top of scale: 102

1990: 4 trials (Not applicable 1, Phase 2 3) 1991: 3 trials (Observational 1, Phase 2 2) 1992: 5 trials (Phase 2 3, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 1) 1993: 4 trials (Observational 1, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 2) 1994: 4 trials (Phase 2 2, Phase 1 2) 1995: 9 trials (Phase 3 1, Phase 2 3, Phase 1/2 2, Phase 1 3) 1996: 19 trials (Observational 2, Not applicable 1, Phase 2 9, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 6) 1997: 33 trials (Not applicable 3, Phase 3 7, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 10, Phase 1/2 3, Phase 1 9) 1998: 47 trials (Observational 2, Not applicable 1, Phase 4 1, Phase 3 4, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 21, Phase 1/2 3, Phase 1 14) 1999: 69 trials (Observational 3, Not applicable 4, Phase 3 10, Phase 2 18, Phase 1/2 5, Phase 1 29) 2000: 55 trials (Not applicable 6, Phase 4 1, Phase 3 4, Phase 2 25, Phase 1/2 6, Phase 1 13) 2001: 52 trials (Observational 3, Not applicable 5, Phase 3 6, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 18, Phase 1/2 6, Phase 1 13) 2002: 54 trials (Observational 3, Not applicable 4, Phase 3 3, Phase 2 18, Phase 1/2 5, Phase 1 21) 2003: 51 trials (Observational 3, Not applicable 5, Phase 4 1, Phase 3 7, Phase 2 16, Phase 1/2 8, Phase 1 11) 2004: 76 trials (Observational 6, Not applicable 5, Phase 3 5, Phase 2 32, Phase 1/2 7, Phase 1 21) 2005: 82 trials (Observational 8, Not applicable 6, Phase 3 2, Phase 2 36, Phase 1/2 14, Phase 1 16) 2006: 62 trials (Observational 5, Not applicable 5, Phase 3 2, Phase 2 26, Phase 1/2 2, Phase 1 22) 2007: 78 trials (Other 1, Observational 4, Not applicable 4, Phase 3 8, Phase 2 28, Phase 1/2 9, Phase 1 24) 2008: 102 trials (Observational 12, Not applicable 3, Phase 3 7, Phase 2 37, Phase 1/2 13, Phase 1 30) 2009: 83 trials (Other 1, Observational 9, Not applicable 4, Phase 4 2, Phase 3 11, Phase 2 21, Phase 1/2 11, Phase 1 24) 2010: 97 trials (Observational 14, Not applicable 5, Phase 4 2, Phase 3 2, Phase 2 39, Phase 1/2 9, Phase 1 26) 2011: 74 trials (Observational 4, Not applicable 3, Phase 4 2, Phase 3 2, Phase 2 32, Phase 1/2 9, Phase 1 22) 2012: 77 trials (Observational 3, Not applicable 2, Phase 3 10, Phase 2 27, Phase 1/2 11, Phase 1 24) 2013: 61 trials (Observational 4, Not applicable 2, Phase 3 10, Phase 2 17, Phase 1/2 8, Phase 1 20) 2014: 68 trials (Observational 7, Not applicable 2, Phase 3 8, Phase 2 16, Phase 1/2 11, Phase 1 24) 2015: 65 trials (Observational 5, Not applicable 2, Phase 3 6, Phase 2 22, Phase 1/2 10, Phase 1 20) 2016: 71 trials (Observational 11, Not applicable 3, Phase 3 5, Phase 2/3 2, Phase 2 21, Phase 1/2 11, Phase 1 18) 2017: 63 trials (Observational 10, Phase 3 3, Phase 2 25, Phase 1/2 13, Phase 1 12) 2018: 62 trials (Observational 12, Not applicable 4, Phase 3 4, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 15, Phase 1/2 7, Phase 1 19) 2019: 55 trials (Observational 6, Phase 4 1, Phase 3 5, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 17, Phase 1/2 8, Phase 1 17) 2020: 75 trials (Observational 15, Not applicable 3, Phase 3 3, Phase 2 18, Phase 1/2 11, Phase 1 25) 2021: 73 trials (Observational 11, Not applicable 8, Phase 4 1, Phase 3 7, Phase 2 15, Phase 1/2 6, Phase 1 25) 2022: 57 trials (Observational 12, Not applicable 3, Phase 3 5, Phase 2 14, Phase 1/2 6, Phase 1 17) 2023: 60 trials (Observational 13, Not applicable 5, Phase 4 1, Phase 3 4, Phase 2 12, Phase 1/2 6, Phase 1 19) 2024: 38 trials (Observational 12, Not applicable 3, Phase 3 2, Phase 2 10, Phase 1/2 4, Phase 1 7) 2025: 55 trials (Observational 14, Not applicable 1, Phase 4 2, Phase 3 6, Phase 2 17, Phase 1/2 5, Phase 1 10)

Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.

Trials started per year
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 50
2025 55
2024 38
2023 60
2022 57
2021 73
2020 75
2019 55
2018 62
2017 63

Forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included, not rows of this table: about 58 trials starting in 2026 and about 49 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward, with about 0.7 times the starts already registered for the rest of 2026 added. The rows of this table count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. In backtests on conditions of this size, forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 15 percent and ran about 1 percent high against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 26 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered. The part-way figures are from forecasts that used a multiple fitted only on earlier years. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.

Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 161 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 45 months across 1,436 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

What phase are Leukemia, Lymphocytic, Chronic, B-Cell trials in? (10)

Shown in this order: phase order.

Show the trials by phase as a table
Trials by phase
Phase Trials
Phase 1 573
Phase 1/2 236
Phase 2 676
Phase 2/3 7
Phase 3 168
Phase 4 16
Not applicable 110
Observational 222
Expanded access 6
Unknown 1

How many Leukemia, Lymphocytic, Chronic, B-Cell trials are recruiting? (12)

Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.

Trials by recruitment status
Status Trials
Not yet recruiting 37
Recruiting 170
Enrolling by invitation 6
Active, not recruiting 142
Available 1

Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.

Which lead sponsors run the most Leukemia, Lymphocytic, Chronic, B-Cell trials? (5)

Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.

Lead sponsors
Sponsor Trials
National Cancer Institute (NCI) 134
Hoffmann-La Roche 36
Gilead Sciences 34
AbbVie 32
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) 30

Which drugs are being tested for Leukemia, Lymphocytic, Chronic, B-Cell? (5)

Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.

Drugs tested
Drug Trials
RITUXIMAB 279
Cytoxan 266
IBRUTINIB 108
Obinutuzumab 90
Busulfan 69

Interventions as named in the registry (10)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Interventions as named in the registry
Drug Trials
SQ Fludarabine 272
Venetoclax 600 108
Peripheral blood stem cell transplantation 108
Mofetil Mycophenolate 99
Total Body Irradiation 81

These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.

Which serious adverse events do Leukemia, Lymphocytic, Chronic, B-Cell trials report? (10)

Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.

Serious adverse events in this condition's trials
Adverse event Subjects affected Trials
Pneumonia 1,914 158
Febrile neutropenia 1,339 164
Pyrexia 921 108
Sepsis 651 159
Neutropenia 635 91

Which publications cover Leukemia, Lymphocytic, Chronic, B-Cell? (902)

Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.

Prevalence (6)

Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.

Prevalence
Orphanet disease Type Class Geography Jurisdiction Mapping relation
B-cell chronic lymphocytic leukemia Annual incidence 1-9 / 100 000 France Not stated Exact
B-cell chronic lymphocytic leukemia Annual incidence 1-9 / 100 000 France Not stated Unspecified
B-cell chronic lymphocytic leukemia Point prevalence 1-5 / 10 000 Europe Not stated Unspecified
B-cell chronic lymphocytic leukemia Point prevalence 1-5 / 10 000 Europe Not stated Exact
B-cell chronic lymphocytic leukemia Annual incidence 1-9 / 100 000 France Not stated Exact

Rare-disease identity (2)

Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.

Rare-disease identity
Orphanet disease ORPHA code Relation Source
B-cell chronic lymphocytic leukemia 67038 Exact Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO)
B-cell chronic lymphocytic leukemia 67038 Exact Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1

Not on this page

Not measured: delivery record.

Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: sub-conditions in mesh.

Browse all condition evidence pages