Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Organization (Academic)

University of Coimbra

ClinicalTrials.gov lists University of Coimbra as lead sponsor of 87 trials. It has 9 active development programs and 2 approved assets.

PT Academic
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

21 0 2006 2027

Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.

2026 is partial: 9 registered with a 2026 start date. The hollow diamonds on the dashed line are a forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included: about 9 in 2026 and about 11 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The columns, the lighter one included, count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. This method has not been backtested on organizations. In backtests on conditions with as many trial starts a year as this organization (5 to 20), forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored. The 2026 forecast is below the 9 already registered with a 2026 start date: at the cutoff, 3 trials were already registered to start in October to December, more than the method's monthly average allows for, and the method does not use those planned starts.

Logo António Augusto Gonçalves, via Wikimedia Commons, Public domain. Shown to identify the organization; it may be a registered trademark.

This page covers University of Coimbra: 87 lead-sponsored trials and 1 legal-entity registration.

Get the University of Coimbra report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

Disease areas (84)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Disease areas
Disease area Trials
Anxiety Disorders 14
Pain 6
Autism Spectrum Disorder 5
Chronic Pain 5
Diabetes Mellitus 5

Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (19)

Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.

Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 9
2025 14
2024 10
2023 21
2022 11
2021 11
2020 11
2019 9
2018 5
2017 4

Prediction, not a registry value: median of 32 months from start to primary completion across 8 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; 4 of 8 predicted trials reach the 36-month horizon; registered median of 15 months across 45 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

Active development programs (9)

Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.

Active development programs
Drug Disease area Max phase Trials
Treatment As Usual Personality Disorders Not reported 1
Sham rTMS Temporomandibular Joint Disorders Not reported 1
Beetroot Juice - Active Diabetes Mellitus Not reported 1
Beetroot Juice - Active Cerebral Small Vessel Diseases Not reported 1
Treatment As Usual Antisocial Personality Disorder Not reported 1

Approved assets (2)

Shown in this order: max phase first.

Approved assets
Drug Trials
Rosuvastatin Oral Tablet 1
Amitriptyline 1

Sponsor delivery record (1)

Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Sponsor delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
55% hit target (n=22) 52% on time (n=21)

Journals published in (318)

Shown in this order: most published in first.

Journals published in
Journal Publications
PloS one 14
Journal of affective disorders 8
International journal of environmental research and public health 7
Trials 6
BMJ open 5

US granted patents (1)

Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.

US granted patents
US patents granted Granted in the last 5 years Most recent grant
29 14 2025-12-09

Organization relationships (8)

Shown in this order: most evidence first.

Organization relationships
Related organization Relationship Evidence
University Hospital Ulm Co sponsors trial with 1
NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde Co sponsors trial with 1
Leiden University Medical Center Co sponsors trial with 1
Unidade Local de Saúde de Coimbra, EPE Co sponsors trial with 1
Landsteiner Institut Co sponsors trial with 1

Latest dated events (149)

Shown in this order: newest first.

Latest dated events
Date Event Source
2026-11-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-10-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-10-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-09 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-09-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))

Biomarker capability evidence (51)

Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.

Biomarker capability evidence
Gene Role Evidence
CFP Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
GGT1 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
KIF22 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
NF1 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
OSM Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria

Biomarkers this organization publishes on (268)

Shown in this order: most publications first.

Biomarkers this organization publishes on
Biomarker Publications
IL6 10
INS 10
TNF 10
ADIPOQ 7
LEP 7

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, sec-reported annual financials, financing and grant events, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.