Organization (Hospital)
University Hospital Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust
ClinicalTrials.gov lists University Hospital Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust as lead sponsor of 36 trials. It has 5 active development programs and 14 approved assets.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.
2026 is partial: 4 registered with a 2026 start date. The dashed outline is the pace from the 2 registered with a start date through September, planned starts included, not adjusted; not a forecast. No forecast is made for this organization: it averages 4.4 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs. 1 trial is registered to start in 2027 or later.
This page covers University Hospital Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust: 36 lead-sponsored trials and 0 legal-entity registrations.
Disease areas (114)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Disease area | Trials |
|---|---|
| Renal Insufficiency, Chronic | 7 |
| Fibrosis | 4 |
| Head and Neck Neoplasms | 4 |
| Pancreatic Neoplasms | 4 |
| Cardiomyopathies | 3 |
Showing 5 of 114 disease areas.
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (20)
Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 1 trial is registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.
Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 4 |
| 2025 | 2 |
| 2024 | 2 |
| 2023 | 4 |
| 2022 | 9 |
| 2021 | 10 |
| 2020 | 6 |
| 2019 | 10 |
| 2018 | 6 |
| 2017 | 7 |
Showing 10 of 20 years.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 1 trial still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
Active development programs (5)
Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.
| Drug | Disease area | Max phase | Trials |
|---|---|---|---|
| Metabolomics | Cystic Fibrosis | Not reported | 1 |
| Metabolomics | Exocrine Pancreatic Insufficiency | Not reported | 1 |
| Metabolomics | Pancreatic Neoplasms | Not reported | 1 |
| Metabolomics | Pancreatitis | Not reported | 1 |
| Metabolomics | Pancreatitis, Chronic | Not reported | 1 |
Approved assets (14)
Shown in this order: max phase first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| ENVARSUS | 1 |
| CHOLECALCIFEROL | 1 |
| Standard twice daily tacrolimus | 1 |
| Silver Nitrate | 1 |
| Mycophenolate Mofetil | 1 |
Showing 5 of 14 approved assets.
Sponsor delivery record (1)
Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.
| Enrollment | Timeline |
|---|---|
| 83% hit target (n=6) | 60% on time (n=5) |
Journals published in (97)
Shown in this order: most published in first.
| Journal | Publications |
|---|---|
| BMJ open | 6 |
| The New England journal of medicine | 4 |
| Trials | 4 |
| Annals of surgery | 3 |
| Implementation science : IS | 3 |
Showing 5 of 97 journals.
Organization relationships (138)
Shown in this order: most evidence first.
| Related organization | Relationship | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust | Co sponsors trial with | 8 |
| University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust | Co sponsors trial with | 6 |
| Imperial College London | Co sponsors trial with | 6 |
| Northern Care Alliance NHS Foundation Trust | Co sponsors trial with | 6 |
| Newcastle-upon-Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust | Co sponsors trial with | 6 |
Showing 5 of 138 relationships.
Latest dated events (93)
Shown in this order: newest first.
| Date | Event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2027-01-11 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-10 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-10 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-03-30 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-01-19 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
Showing 5 of 93 events.
Biomarker capability evidence (71)
Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.
| Gene | Role | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| AFP | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| ALB | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| ALB | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| AQP4 | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| BCHE | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
Showing 5 of 71 evidence rows.
Biomarkers this organization publishes on (374)
Shown in this order: most publications first.
Showing 5 of 374 biomarkers.
Not on this page
Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, us granted patents, sec-reported annual financials, financing and grant events, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.