Organization (Industry)
Aesculap AG
ClinicalTrials.gov lists Aesculap AG as lead sponsor of 106 trials. It has 8 active development programs and 3 approved assets.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.
2026 is partial: 7 registered with a 2026 start date. The hollow diamonds on the dashed line are a forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included: about 7 in 2026 and about 5 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The columns, the lighter one included, count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. This method has not been backtested on organizations. In backtests on conditions with as many trial starts a year as this organization (5 to 20), forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored. 1 trial is registered to start in 2027 or later.
This page covers Aesculap AG: 106 lead-sponsored trials and 2 legal-entity registrations. The parent company on record for Aesculap AG is B. Braun Holding GmbH & Co. KG, which does not have its own page on this site.
Related companies are recorded in the same corporate group by GLEIF, ROR or a curator but are not grouped here; they are listed below with their own counts and are not included in the figures above.
Disease areas (160)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Disease area | Trials |
|---|---|
| Coronary Disease | 22 |
| Osteoarthritis | 19 |
| Coronary Artery Disease | 16 |
| Arthritis, Rheumatoid | 11 |
| Fractures, Bone | 11 |
Showing 5 of 160 disease areas.
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (23)
Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 1 trial is registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.
Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 7 |
| 2025 | 4 |
| 2024 | 7 |
| 2023 | 6 |
| 2022 | 15 |
| 2021 | 8 |
| 2020 | 9 |
| 2019 | 4 |
| 2018 | 6 |
| 2017 | 5 |
Showing 10 of 23 years.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 4 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
Active development programs (8)
Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.
| Drug | Disease area | Max phase | Trials |
|---|---|---|---|
| Histoacryl | Hematoma | Not reported | 1 |
| Histoacryl | Hematoma, Subdural | Not reported | 1 |
| Histoacryl | Hemorrhage | Not reported | 1 |
| Histoacryl | Hematoma, Subdural, Chronic | Not reported | 1 |
| Embolization Therapy | Hemoptysis | Not reported | 1 |
Showing 5 of 8 active programs.
Approved assets (3)
Shown in this order: max phase first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| total knee arthroplasty | 1 |
| SURGICEL® | 1 |
| TachoSil | 1 |
Sponsor delivery record (1)
Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.
| Enrollment | Timeline |
|---|---|
| 47% hit target (n=47) | 18% on time (n=45) |
Journals published in (238)
Shown in this order: most published in first.
| Journal | Publications |
|---|---|
| Circulation | 34 |
| Journal of the American College of Cardiology | 30 |
| Trials | 12 |
| Endoscopy | 11 |
| European heart journal | 11 |
Showing 5 of 238 journals.
US granted patents (1)
Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.
| US patents granted | Granted in the last 5 years | Most recent grant |
|---|---|---|
| 1,276 | 278 | 2025-12-30 |
FDA inspection record (1)
| Latest classification | Inspections |
|---|---|
| NAI | 13 |
FDA recalls (42)
Shown in this order: most recent first.
| Product | Classification | Initiated |
|---|---|---|
| Brand Name: AESCULAP Product Name: MINOP TROCAR 150MM 4 WKING CHANNEL6.0MM Model/Catalog Number: FF399R Software Version: N/A Product Description: MINOP TROCAR 150MM 4 WKING CHANNEL6.0MM Component: N/A | Class II | 2026-01-15 |
| Brand Name: Aesculap Product Name: SEALING UNIT F/10/12MM TROCARS W.REDUCER Model/Catalog Number: EK083P Software Version: N/A Product Description: SEALING UNIT F/10/12MM TROCARS W.REDUCER Component: N/A | Class II | 2025-09-24 |
| Brand Name: Aesculap Product Name: SEALING CAP FOR 10/12MM TROCARS Model/Catalog Number: EK085P Software Version: N/A Product Description: SEALING CAP FOR 10/12MM TROCARS Component: N/A | Class II | 2025-09-24 |
| Brand Name: AESCULAP Product Name: SEALING UNIT FOR 10/12MM TROCARS Model/Catalog Number: EK086P Software Version: N/A Product Description: SEALING UNIT FOR 10/12MM TROCARS Component: N/A | Class II | 2025-09-24 |
| Brand Name: AESCULAP Product Name: REDUCING CONVERTER 10/12MM TO 5MM Model/Catalog Number: EK087P Software Version: N/A Product Description: REDUCING CONVERTER 10/12MM TO 5MM Component: N/A | Class II | 2025-09-24 |
Showing 5 of 42 recalls.
FDA import refusals (1)
| Refused import lines | Latest refusal |
|---|---|
| 1 | 2014-05-05 |
Manufacturing and distribution sites (2)
Shown in this order: severity rank then name.
| Facility | Location | Regulators | Member organization |
|---|---|---|---|
| AESCULAP, INC. | HAZELWOOD, US | FDA | |
| AESCULAP, INC. | CENTER VALLEY, US | FDA |
Organization relationships (17)
Shown in this order: most evidence first.
| Related organization | Relationship | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Universitaire Ziekenhuizen KU Leuven | Co sponsors trial with | 2 |
| Raylytic GmbH | Co sponsors trial with | 2 |
| Anders Perner | Co sponsors trial with | 1 |
| Copenhagen Trial Unit, Center for Clinical Intervention Research | Co sponsors trial with | 1 |
| SepNet - Critical Care Trials Group | Co sponsors trial with | 1 |
Showing 5 of 17 relationships.
Latest dated events (2,103)
Shown in this order: newest first.
| Date | Event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2027-04 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-12 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-11-09 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-09-30 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-09 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
Showing 5 of 2,103 events.
Biomarker capability evidence (8)
Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.
| Gene | Role | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| SDHB | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| SDS | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| ESR1 | Trial sponsor | Named in trial exclusion criteria |
| HMOX1 | Trial sponsor | Named in trial exclusion criteria |
| ESR1 | Trial sponsor | Mentioned in trial text |
Showing 5 of 8 evidence rows.
On Scientist.com
Aesculap AG is listed as a research supplier in the Scientist.com network.
Service areas
B. Braun offers biocompatibility testing, ophthalmic studies, microbiology, safety pharmacology, pharmacokinetics, metabolism, and manufacturing services.
- Website
- us.bbraunoem.com
Not on this page
Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, sec-reported annual financials, financing and grant events, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, clia clinical laboratory certificates, and biomarkers this organization publishes on.
Work with B. Braun on Scientist.com
For prices, more details, or to contact B. Braun, visit Scientist.com.
Sign in to Scientist.com to open this supplier in your organization's marketplace.