Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Organization (Academic)

University of Basel

ClinicalTrials.gov lists University of Basel as lead sponsor of 62 trials. It has 4 active development programs.

CH Academic
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

17 0 2003 2027

Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.

2026 is partial: 4 registered with a 2026 start date. The hollow diamonds on the dashed line are a forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included: about 5 in 2026 and about 8 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The columns, the lighter one included, count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. This method has not been backtested on organizations. In backtests on conditions with as many trial starts a year as this organization (5 to 20), forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.

Logo https://www.unibas.ch/en.html, via Wikimedia Commons, Public domain. Shown to identify the organization; it may be a registered trademark.

This page covers University of Basel: 62 lead-sponsored trials and 1 legal-entity registration.

Get the University of Basel report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

Disease areas (127)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Disease areas
Disease area Trials
Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome 9
HIV Infections 9
Obesity 9
Hypertension 6
Scleroderma, Systemic 6

Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (22)

Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.

Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 4
2025 11
2024 9
2023 12
2022 14
2021 8
2020 12
2019 12
2018 9
2017 17

Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 7 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 13 months across 41 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

Active development programs (4)

Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.

Active development programs
Drug Disease area Max phase Trials
Participants will prepare their cannabis product ad libitum and inhale the prepared product as usual for a maximum of 15 minutes. Marijuana Abuse Not reported 1
Participants will prepare their cannabis product ad libitum and inhale the prepared product as usual for a maximum of 15 minutes. Substance-Related Disorders Not reported 1
Conventional Therapy Consciousness Disorders Not reported 1
Conventional Therapy Persistent Vegetative State Not reported 1

Sponsor delivery record (1)

Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Sponsor delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
50% hit target (n=22) 52% on time (n=21)

Journals published in (221)

Shown in this order: most published in first.

Journals published in
Journal Publications
BMJ open 11
Pain 9
BMJ (Clinical research ed.) 8
PloS one 8
Stroke 8

US granted patents (1)

Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.

US granted patents
US patents granted Granted in the last 5 years Most recent grant
69 32 2025-12-23

Financing and grant events (2)

Shown in this order: most recent first.

Financing and grant events
Date Round type Amount (USD) Source
2024-09-11 NIH grant 108,154 Reporter
2023-07-28 NIH grant 143,231 Reporter

Organization relationships (76)

Shown in this order: most evidence first.

Organization relationships
Related organization Relationship Evidence
University Hospital, Basel, Switzerland Co sponsors trial with 13
Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute Co sponsors trial with 8
Ministry of Health, Lesotho Co sponsors trial with 7
Charite University, Berlin, Germany Co sponsors trial with 6
University of Paris 5 - Rene Descartes Co sponsors trial with 5

Latest dated events (242)

Shown in this order: newest first.

Latest dated events
Date Event Source
2026-10-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-01-13 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-01-09 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-01-09 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2025-12-23 Patent granted Granted US patents (PatentsView / USPTO)

Biomarker capability evidence (123)

Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.

Biomarker capability evidence
Gene Role Evidence
ACSM1 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
BPIFA4P Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
CGA Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
MOG Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
NMS Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria

Biomarkers this organization publishes on (923)

Shown in this order: most publications first.

Biomarkers this organization publishes on
Biomarker Publications
CRP 52
INS 35
IL6 34
CD4 29
TNF 26

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, approved assets, sec-reported annual financials, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.