Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Organization (Industry)

Spark Biomedical, Inc. (United States)

ClinicalTrials.gov lists Spark Biomedical, Inc. (United States) as lead sponsor of 13 trials. It has 6 active development programs and 1 approved asset.

US Industry Manufacturer
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

4 0 2019 2026

Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.

2026 is partial: 3 registered with a 2026 start date. The dashed outline is the pace from the 2 registered with a start date through September, planned starts included, not adjusted; not a forecast. No forecast is made for this organization: it averages 2.8 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.

This page covers Spark Biomedical, Inc. (United States): 13 lead-sponsored trials and 1 legal-entity registration.

Get the Spark Biomedical, Inc. (United States) report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

Disease areas (17)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Disease areas
Disease area Trials
Substance-Related Disorders 9
Opioid-Related Disorders 6
Hemorrhage 4
Substance Withdrawal Syndrome 4
Menorrhagia 3

Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (8)

Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.

Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 3
2025 4
2024 3
2023 2
2022 3
2021 1
2020 1
2019 1

Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 2 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

Active development programs (6)

Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.

Active development programs
Drug Disease area Max phase Trials
Extended release injectable naltrexone (Vivitrol) Opioid-Related Disorders Not reported 1
Extended release injectable naltrexone (Vivitrol) Substance Withdrawal Syndrome Not reported 1
Extended release injectable naltrexone (Vivitrol) Substance-Related Disorders Not reported 1
Lofexidine Opioid-Related Disorders Not reported 1
Lofexidine Substance Withdrawal Syndrome Not reported 1

Approved assets (1)

Approved assets
Drug Trials
Lofexidine 1

Sponsor delivery record (1)

Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Sponsor delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
10% hit target (n=10) 20% on time (n=10)

Journals published in (31)

Shown in this order: most published in first.

Journals published in
Journal Publications
Annual International Conference of the IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society. IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society. Annual International Conference 2
Applied ergonomics 2
Scientific reports 2
Sensors (Basel, Switzerland) 2
Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences 1

US granted patents (1)

Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.

US granted patents
US patents granted Granted in the last 5 years Most recent grant
12 10 2025-12-23

Financing and grant events (7)

Shown in this order: most recent first.

Financing and grant events
Date Round type Amount (USD) Source
2025-08-26 STTR award 305,545 Reporter
2024-06-12 SBIR award 318,875 Reporter
2023-03-07 Private placement 16,234,159 Form d
2022-08-23 SBIR award 1,248,001 Reporter
2022-07-22 SBIR award 1,246,700 Reporter

FDA recalls (1)

FDA recalls
Product Classification Initiated
Sparrow Ascent Patient Controller, REF's: 11-110-K, 11-310-K, 11-320-K, 11-321-K, 11-310-K-28, 11-320-K-28, 11-321-K-28 Class II 2025-07-02

Manufacturing and distribution sites (1)

Manufacturing and distribution sites
Facility Location Regulators Member organization
Spark Biomedical Inc. Richmond, US FDA

Organization relationships (1)

Organization relationships
Related organization Relationship Evidence
Five Liters, Inc. Co sponsors trial with 1

Latest dated events (38)

Shown in this order: newest first.

Latest dated events
Date Event Source
2026-10 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-03-06 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-01-28 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2025-12-23 Patent granted Granted US patents (PatentsView / USPTO)
2025-11-11 Patent granted Granted US patents (PatentsView / USPTO)

Biomarker capability evidence (14)

Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.

Biomarker capability evidence
Gene Role Evidence
CCNG1 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
COMMD3 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
TNFRSF17 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
F2 Trial sponsor Named in trial exclusion criteria
F3 Trial sponsor Named in trial exclusion criteria

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, sec-reported annual financials, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda import refusals, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, clia clinical laboratory certificates, and biomarkers this organization publishes on.