Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Organization (Academic)

LOUGHBOROUGH UNIVERSITY

ClinicalTrials.gov lists LOUGHBOROUGH UNIVERSITY as lead sponsor of 75 trials. It has 8 active development programs and 3 approved assets.

GB Academic
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

14 0 2006 2027

Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.

2026 is partial: 4 registered with a 2026 start date. The hollow diamonds on the dashed line are a forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included: about 6 in 2026 and about 7 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The columns, the lighter one included, count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. This method has not been backtested on organizations. In backtests on conditions with as many trial starts a year as this organization (5 to 20), forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.

Logo Nil pat13, via Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0. Shown to identify the organization; it may be a registered trademark.

This page covers LOUGHBOROUGH UNIVERSITY: 75 lead-sponsored trials and 2 legal-entity registrations.

Get the LOUGHBOROUGH UNIVERSITY report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

Disease areas (47)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Disease areas
Disease area Trials
Obesity 16
Diabetes Mellitus 11
Diabetes Mellitus, Type 2 10
Insulin Resistance 10
Inflammation 8

Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (18)

Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.

Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 4
2025 9
2024 8
2023 14
2022 6
2021 13
2020 6
2019 12
2018 7
2017 11

Prediction, not a registry value: median of 24 months from start to primary completion across 6 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 10 months across 51 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

Active development programs (8)

Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.

Active development programs
Drug Disease area Max phase Trials
Routine Care Inflammation Not reported 1
Creatine Fatigue Not reported 1
Creatine Pain Not reported 1
Creatine Arthralgia Not reported 1
Ecallantide Spinal Cord Injuries Not reported 1

Approved assets (3)

Shown in this order: max phase first.

Approved assets
Drug Trials
Caffeine 1
Ecallantide 1
Fish Oil 1

Sponsor delivery record (1)

Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Sponsor delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
68% hit target (n=28) 59% on time (n=29)

Journals published in (86)

Shown in this order: most published in first.

Journals published in
Journal Publications
The American journal of clinical nutrition 11
Diabetes care 6
Medicine and science in sports and exercise 6
The Journal of nutrition 6
Diabetes, obesity & metabolism 5

US granted patents (1)

Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.

US granted patents
US patents granted Granted in the last 5 years Most recent grant
16 3 2025-06-03

Organization relationships (5)

Shown in this order: most evidence first.

Organization relationships
Related organization Relationship Evidence
Nottingham Trent University Co sponsors trial with 1
Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust Co sponsors trial with 1
University Hospitals, Leicester Co sponsors trial with 1
Queen Alexandra Hospital, Portsmouth Co sponsors trial with 1
Danone Nutricia Co sponsors trial with 1

Latest dated events (125)

Shown in this order: newest first.

Latest dated events
Date Event Source
2026-05-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-05-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-01-23 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-01-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2025-12-15 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))

Biomarker capability evidence (27)

Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.

Biomarker capability evidence
Gene Role Evidence
FTO Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
FURIN Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
NPPB Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
ATP12A Trial collaborator Named in trial exclusion criteria
ATP12A Trial collaborator Named in trial exclusion criteria

Biomarkers this organization publishes on (148)

Shown in this order: most publications first.

Biomarkers this organization publishes on
Biomarker Publications
INS 33
CRP 15
IL6 15
GCG 8
TNF 8

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, sec-reported annual financials, financing and grant events, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.