Organization (Hospital)
MaineHealth
ClinicalTrials.gov lists MaineHealth as lead sponsor of 36 trials, counting the companies grouped under it. MaineHealth itself has 5 active development programs and 9 approved assets.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. Companies grouped under this one are not included. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.
2026 is partial: 2 registered with a 2026 start date. The dashed outline is the pace from the 1 registered with a start date through September, planned starts included, not adjusted; not a forecast. No forecast is made for this organization: it averages 4.4 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
This page covers MaineHealth and 1 company grouped under it: 36 lead-sponsored trials (36 its own, 0 in the grouped companies) and 4 legal-entity registrations (2 its own, 2 in the grouped companies).
Companies grouped under this page (1)
| Company | Lead trials | Legal entities |
|---|---|---|
| Maine Medical Center | 0 | 2 |
Disease areas (89)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Disease area | Trials |
|---|---|
| Inflammation | 6 |
| Pain | 5 |
| Diabetes Mellitus | 4 |
| Obesity | 4 |
| Atrial Fibrillation | 3 |
Showing 5 of 89 disease areas.
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (23)
Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 2 |
| 2025 | 3 |
| 2024 | 5 |
| 2023 | 5 |
| 2022 | 7 |
| 2021 | 5 |
| 2020 | 1 |
| 2019 | 5 |
| 2018 | 6 |
| 2017 | 8 |
Showing 10 of 23 years.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 4 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
Active development programs (5)
Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.
| Drug | Disease area | Max phase | Trials |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sirolimus | Desmoid Tumors | Phase 1/2 | 1 |
| BIA 6-512 | Coronary Artery Disease | Not reported | 1 |
| BIA 6-512 | Coronary Disease | Not reported | 1 |
| BIA 6-512 | Diabetes Mellitus | Not reported | 1 |
| BIA 6-512 | Diabetes Mellitus, Type 2 | Not reported | 1 |
Approved assets (9)
Shown in this order: max phase first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Buprenorphine | 1 |
| Estradiol | 1 |
| AMIODARONE | 1 |
| Vitamin C | 1 |
| Sirolimus | 1 |
Showing 5 of 9 approved assets.
Sponsor delivery record (1)
Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.
| Enrollment | Timeline |
|---|---|
| 36% hit target (n=14) | 15% on time (n=13) |
Journals published in (236)
Shown in this order: most published in first.
| Journal | Publications |
|---|---|
| Pediatrics | 20 |
| Journal of endourology | 14 |
| Journal of autism and developmental disorders | 11 |
| Diabetes care | 9 |
| Journal of child and adolescent psychopharmacology | 7 |
Showing 5 of 236 journals.
US granted patents (1)
Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.
| US patents granted | Granted in the last 5 years | Most recent grant |
|---|---|---|
| 34 | 9 | 2025-05-27 |
Financing and grant events (114)
Shown in this order: most recent first.
| Date | Round type | Amount (USD) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-09-23 | NIH grant | 700,000 | Reporter |
| 2025-09-05 | NIH grant | 3,999,869 | Reporter |
| 2025-09-01 | NIH grant | 2,608,068 | Reporter |
| 2025-08-18 | NIH grant | 420,705 | Reporter |
| 2025-08-13 | NIH grant | 2,580,000 | Reporter |
Showing 5 of 114 events.
Organization relationships (22)
Shown in this order: most evidence first.
| Related organization | Relationship | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Lifespan | Co sponsors trial with | 2 |
| Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center | Co sponsors trial with | 1 |
| Indiana University | Co sponsors trial with | 1 |
| Children's Hospital of Philadelphia | Co sponsors trial with | 1 |
| University of Pittsburgh | Co sponsors trial with | 1 |
Showing 5 of 22 relationships.
Latest dated events (227)
Shown in this order: newest first.
| Date | Event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-01 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-02-10 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2025-12-22 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2025-09-23 | NIH grant | Funding rounds and grants (NIH RePORTER + SEC EDGAR) |
| 2025-09-05 | NIH grant | Funding rounds and grants (NIH RePORTER + SEC EDGAR) |
Showing 5 of 227 events.
CLIA clinical laboratory certificates (11)
Shown in this order: active first, then certificate type.
| Lab | Certificate | Status |
|---|---|---|
| MAINEHEALTH | Certificate of accreditation | Active |
| MAINEHEALTH | Certificate of waiver | Active |
| MAINEHEALTH | Certificate of waiver | Active |
| MAINEHEALTH | Certificate of waiver | Active |
| MAINEHEALTH | Certificate of waiver | Active |
Showing 5 of 11 certificates.
Biomarker capability evidence (64)
Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.
| Gene | Role | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| APC | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| CCNG1 | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| CFTR | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| CFTR | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| CGAS | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
Showing 5 of 64 evidence rows.
Biomarkers this organization publishes on (225)
Shown in this order: most publications first.
Showing 5 of 225 biomarkers.
On Scientist.com
MaineHealth is listed as a research supplier in the Scientist.com network.
Service areas
Maine Medical Center Research Institute offers research and its facilities tissue banking and processing.
- Website
- www.mmcri.org
Not on this page
Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: related companies not grouped here, sec-reported annual financials, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, and workforce and board diversity, as filed.
Work with Maine Medical Center Research Institute on Scientist.com
For prices, more details, or to contact Maine Medical Center Research Institute, visit Scientist.com.
Sign in to Scientist.com to open this supplier in your organization's marketplace.