Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Organization (Academic)

University of Oslo

ClinicalTrials.gov lists University of Oslo as lead sponsor of 176 trials. It has 23 active development programs and 24 approved assets.

NO Academic
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

42 0 1993 2027

Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.

2026 is partial: 13 registered with a 2026 start date. The hollow diamonds on the dashed line are a forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included: about 17 in 2026 and about 22 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The columns, the lighter one included, count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. This method has not been backtested on organizations. In backtests on conditions with as many trial starts a year as this organization (20 to 100), forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 18 percent and ran about 14 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 26 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored. 2 trials are registered to start in 2027 or later.

Logo Oslo2019, via Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0. Shown to identify the organization; it may be a registered trademark.

This page covers University of Oslo: 176 lead-sponsored trials and 1 legal-entity registration.

Related companies are recorded in the same corporate group by GLEIF, ROR or a curator but are not grouped here; they are listed below with their own counts and are not included in the figures above.

Get the University of Oslo report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

Disease areas (307)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Disease areas
Disease area Trials
Pain 37
Anxiety Disorders 35
Obesity 19
Stress Disorders, Post-Traumatic 19
Substance-Related Disorders 17

Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (30)

Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 2 trials are registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.

Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 13
2025 27
2024 23
2023 28
2022 26
2021 25
2020 42
2019 40
2018 35
2017 33

Prediction, not a registry value: median of 35 months from start to primary completion across 10 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 24 months across 103 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

Active development programs (23)

Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.

Active development programs
Drug Disease area Max phase Trials
18F-FDG Fatigue Not reported 1
18F-FDG Brain Abscess Not reported 1
18F-FDG Abscess Not reported 1
Intervention Dementia Not reported 1
18F-FDG Cognitive Dysfunction Not reported 1

Approved assets (24)

Shown in this order: max phase first.

Approved assets
Drug Trials
Biphasic calcium phosphate (Straumann Bone Ceramic) + enamel matrix proteins (Straumann Emdogain) 2
Physiotherapy 2
Chlorhexidine 0.06% mouthrinse 1
Chlorhexidine 0.12% mouthrinse 1
Chlorhexidine 0.2%, Corsodyl 1

Sponsor delivery record (1)

Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Sponsor delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
52% hit target (n=48) 39% on time (n=46)

Journals published in (551)

Shown in this order: most published in first.

Journals published in
Journal Publications
BMJ open 42
BMC psychiatry 26
BMC health services research 19
PloS one 19
European journal of orthodontics 15

US granted patents (1)

Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.

US granted patents
US patents granted Granted in the last 5 years Most recent grant
48 12 2025-11-11

Organization relationships (148)

Shown in this order: most evidence first.

Organization relationships
Related organization Relationship Evidence
Norwegian University of Science and Technology Co sponsors trial with 8
St. Olavs Hospital Co sponsors trial with 8
Haukeland University Hospital Co sponsors trial with 7
Northern Norway Regional Health Authority Co sponsors trial with 6
OsloMet – Oslo Metropolitan University Co sponsors trial with 5

Latest dated events (582)

Shown in this order: newest first.

Latest dated events
Date Event Source
2027-02-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2027-01-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-10-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-06-14 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-06-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))

Biomarker capability evidence (171)

Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.

Biomarker capability evidence
Gene Role Evidence
AIP Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
ALB Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
ALB Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
ALB Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
ARHGEF5 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria

Biomarkers this organization publishes on (1,500)

Shown in this order: most publications first.

Biomarkers this organization publishes on
Biomarker Publications
CRP 142
IL6 72
TNF 64
INS 63
IFNG 40

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, sec-reported annual financials, financing and grant events, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.