Organization (Hospital)
Papworth Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
ClinicalTrials.gov lists Papworth Hospital NHS Foundation Trust as lead sponsor of 62 trials. It has 4 active development programs and 8 approved assets.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.
2026 is partial: 1 registered with a 2026 start date. The dashed outline is the pace from the 1 registered with a start date through September, planned starts included, not adjusted; not a forecast. No forecast is made for this organization: it averages 4.8 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
This page covers Papworth Hospital NHS Foundation Trust: 62 lead-sponsored trials and 1 legal-entity registration.
Disease areas (73)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Disease area | Trials |
|---|---|
| Cystic Fibrosis | 11 |
| Pain | 7 |
| Sleep Apnea Syndromes | 7 |
| Sleep Apnea, Obstructive | 7 |
| Angina Pectoris | 6 |
Showing 5 of 73 disease areas.
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (20)
Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 1 |
| 2025 | 4 |
| 2024 | 7 |
| 2023 | 4 |
| 2022 | 5 |
| 2021 | 6 |
| 2020 | 3 |
| 2019 | 8 |
| 2018 | 5 |
| 2017 | 9 |
Showing 10 of 20 years.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 1 trial still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
Active development programs (4)
Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.
| Drug | Disease area | Max phase | Trials |
|---|---|---|---|
| RESP301 | Cystic Fibrosis | Phase 2 | 1 |
| RESP301 | Mycobacterium Infections, Nontuberculous | Phase 2 | 1 |
| Non interventional study | Bronchiectasis | Not reported | 1 |
| Non interventional study | Cystic Fibrosis | Not reported | 1 |
Approved assets (8)
Shown in this order: max phase first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Zoledronic Acid | 1 |
| MORPHINE | 1 |
| Talc | 1 |
| GEFITINIB | 1 |
| Ticagrelor | 1 |
Showing 5 of 8 approved assets.
Sponsor delivery record (1)
Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.
| Enrollment | Timeline |
|---|---|
| 42% hit target (n=19) | 35% on time (n=20) |
Journals published in (107)
Shown in this order: most published in first.
| Journal | Publications |
|---|---|
| The European respiratory journal | 10 |
| Chest | 7 |
| Circulation | 7 |
| Thorax | 7 |
| Anesthesiology | 6 |
Showing 5 of 107 journals.
Organization relationships (69)
Shown in this order: most evidence first.
| Related organization | Relationship | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| University of London | Co sponsors trial with | 3 |
| National Institute for Health Research, United Kingdom | Co sponsors trial with | 3 |
| UK Research and Innovation | Co sponsors trial with | 3 |
| Cystic Fibrosis Trust | Co sponsors trial with | 3 |
| Royal Devon & Exeter NHS Foundation Trust | Co sponsors trial with | 2 |
Showing 5 of 69 relationships.
Latest dated events (87)
Shown in this order: newest first.
| Date | Event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-07-14 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2025-10 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2025-09-30 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2025-07-07 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2025-05-01 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
Showing 5 of 87 events.
Biomarker capability evidence (55)
Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.
| Gene | Role | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| APEX1 | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| CCDC88A | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| CFTR | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| CLN3 | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| DCD | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
Showing 5 of 55 evidence rows.
Biomarkers this organization publishes on (65)
Shown in this order: most publications first.
Showing 5 of 65 biomarkers.
On Scientist.com
Papworth Hospital NHS Foundation Trust is listed as a research supplier in the Scientist.com network.
Papworth Hospital's laboratory pathology service is managed by the clinical lead for pathology, a consultant pathologist and the laboratory manager, a chartered biomedical scientist. The laboratory has an integrated quality management system in place and strives to constantly improve standards, with all the major disciplines participating in national quality assurance schemes. The laboratory is dedicated to staff education and training to meet the requirements of the clinical and collaborative research services. The department also has full CPA accreditation for all pathology servicesIn...
Show the full description
Papworth Hospital's laboratory pathology service is managed by the clinical lead for pathology, a consultant pathologist and the laboratory manager, a chartered biomedical scientist.
The laboratory has an integrated quality management system in place and strives to constantly improve standards, with all the major disciplines participating in national quality assurance schemes. The laboratory is dedicated to staff education and training to meet the requirements of the clinical and collaborative research services. The department also has full CPA accreditation for all pathology servicesIn addition the laboratory is licensed by the Human Tissue Authority.
The laboratory believes in the continuous development of services and we are constantly seeking to introduce new technologies and techniques which enables us to offer services of a high standard
We actively participate in and support the clinical governance and clinical audit activities of the Trust.
Our services comprise:
- Histopathology and respiratory cytopathology
- Microbiology
- Specialist immunology laboratory
- Haematology, blood transfusion and biochemistry
- Mortuary
Not on this page
Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, us granted patents, sec-reported annual financials, financing and grant events, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.
Work with Papworth Hospital Pathology Services on Scientist.com
For prices, more details, or to contact Papworth Hospital Pathology Services, visit Scientist.com.
Sign in to Scientist.com to open this supplier in your organization's marketplace.