Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Organization (Academic)

Aristotle University of Thessaloniki

ClinicalTrials.gov lists Aristotle University of Thessaloniki as lead sponsor of 278 trials. It has 34 active development programs and 69 approved assets.

GR Academic
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

34 0 1999 2027

Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.

2026 is partial: 16 registered with a 2026 start date. The hollow diamonds on the dashed line are a forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included: about 19 in 2026 and about 20 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The columns, the lighter one included, count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. This method has not been backtested on organizations. In backtests on conditions with as many trial starts a year as this organization (20 to 100), forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 18 percent and ran about 14 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 26 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.

Logo Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, via Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 3.0. Shown to identify the organization; it may be a registered trademark.

This page covers Aristotle University of Thessaloniki: 278 lead-sponsored trials and 1 legal-entity registration.

Get the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

Disease areas (268)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Disease areas
Disease area Trials
Diabetes Mellitus 27
Glaucoma 18
Pain 18
Cognitive Dysfunction 14
Infertility 14

Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (25)

Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.

Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 16
2025 19
2024 26
2023 23
2022 28
2021 34
2020 18
2019 22
2018 24
2017 17

Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 13 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 18 months across 175 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

Active development programs (34)

Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.

Active development programs
Drug Disease area Max phase Trials
Mepolizumab 100 MG [Nucala] Asthma Not reported 2
Enamel Matrix Derivative (Emdogain) Periodontitis Not reported 1
Enamel Matrix Derivative (Emdogain) Alveolar Bone Loss Not reported 1
Enamel Matrix Derivative (Emdogain) Periodontal Pocket Not reported 1
Enamel Matrix Derivative (Emdogain) Bone Resorption Not reported 1

Approved assets (69)

Shown in this order: max phase first.

Approved assets
Drug Trials
METFORMIN 4
Rosiglitazone 3
NEBIVOLOL 2
DENOSUMAB 2
Standard drop administration [phenylephrine 1.67% + tropicamide 0.33% (drop volume: 28-34 μL)] 1

Sponsor delivery record (1)

Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Sponsor delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
69% hit target (n=65) 35% on time (n=71)

Journals published in (587)

Shown in this order: most published in first.

Journals published in
Journal Publications
Journal of clinical periodontology 26
Journal of periodontology 20
Hypertension (Dallas, Tex. : 1979) 19
Clinical oral implants research 18
Nephrology, dialysis, transplantation : official publication of the European Dialysis and Transplant Association - European Renal Association 16

Organization relationships (81)

Shown in this order: most evidence first.

Organization relationships
Related organization Relationship Evidence
National and Kapodistrian University of Athens Co sponsors trial with 5
National University of Ireland Co sponsors trial with 3
Pulmonary Clinic, University of Ioannina Co sponsors trial with 2
University of Oxford Co sponsors trial with 2
Erasmus Medical Center Co sponsors trial with 2

Latest dated events (333)

Shown in this order: newest first.

Latest dated events
Date Event Source
2026-11-02 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-10-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-09-30 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-09-07 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-09 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))

Biomarker capability evidence (132)

Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.

Biomarker capability evidence
Gene Role Evidence
ALB Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
AMH Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
AMH Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
APOE Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
APOE Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria

Biomarkers this organization publishes on (756)

Shown in this order: most publications first.

Biomarkers this organization publishes on
Biomarker Publications
CRP 45
IL6 36
INS 36
TNF 26
ADIPOQ 15

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, us granted patents, sec-reported annual financials, financing and grant events, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.