Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Organization (Hospital)

NHS Lothian

ClinicalTrials.gov lists NHS Lothian as lead sponsor of 54 trials, counting the companies grouped under it. NHS Lothian itself has 15 active development programs and 2 approved assets.

GB Hospital
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

21 0 2003 2027

Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. Companies grouped under this one are not included. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.

2026 is partial: 13 registered with a 2026 start date. The hollow diamonds on the dashed line are a forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included: about 10 in 2026 and about 9 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The columns, the lighter one included, count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. This method has not been backtested on organizations. In backtests on conditions with as many trial starts a year as this organization (5 to 20), forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored. The 2026 forecast is below the 13 already registered with a 2026 start date: at the cutoff, 5 trials were already registered to start in October to December, more than the method's monthly average allows for, and the method does not use those planned starts. 1 trial is registered to start in 2027 or later.

This page covers NHS Lothian and 1 company grouped under it: 54 lead-sponsored trials (53 its own, 1 in the grouped companies) and 4 legal-entity registrations (1 its own, 3 in the grouped companies).

Get the NHS Lothian report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

Companies grouped under this page (1)

Companies grouped under this page
Company Lead trials Legal entities
St. John's Hospital 1 3

Disease areas (211)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Disease areas
Disease area Trials
Pain 15
Coronary Disease 9
Bronchiectasis 8
Diabetes Mellitus 8
Fractures, Bone 8

Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (23)

Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 1 trial is registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.

Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 13
2025 7
2024 12
2023 10
2022 11
2021 12
2020 21
2019 13
2018 19
2017 12

Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 3 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

Active development programs (15)

Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.

Active development programs
Drug Disease area Max phase Trials
Stereotactic body radiotherapy (SBRT) Prostatic Neoplasms Not reported 1
data collection Syncope Not reported 1
Aspirin 300mg Eczema Not reported 1
Blood and Urine Sampling Renal Insufficiency, Chronic Not reported 1
data collection Emergencies Not reported 1

Approved assets (2)

Shown in this order: max phase first.

Approved assets
Drug Trials
Alfentanil 1
Oxycodone 1

Sponsor delivery record (1)

Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Sponsor delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
42% hit target (n=24) 27% on time (n=26)

Journals published in (261)

Shown in this order: most published in first.

Journals published in
Journal Publications
BMJ open 20
Lancet (London, England) 20
Journal of the American College of Cardiology 15
The New England journal of medicine 14
Heart (British Cardiac Society) 12

Organization relationships (86)

Shown in this order: most evidence first.

Organization relationships
Related organization Relationship Evidence
NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde Co sponsors trial with 5
Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust Co sponsors trial with 4
National Health Service Wales Co sponsors trial with 4
University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust Co sponsors trial with 3
Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Co sponsors trial with 3

Latest dated events (251)

Shown in this order: newest first.

Latest dated events
Date Event Source
2027-03 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-11 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-11 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-10-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-10-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))

Biomarker capability evidence (151)

Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.

Biomarker capability evidence
Gene Role Evidence
AQP4 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
CALR3 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
FES Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
FES Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
IDH1 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria

Biomarkers this organization publishes on (278)

Shown in this order: most publications first.

Biomarkers this organization publishes on
Biomarker Publications
INS 11
CRP 9
TNF 9
VEGFA 5
CFTR 4

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: related companies not grouped here, us granted patents, sec-reported annual financials, financing and grant events, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.