Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Organization (Other)

Oswaldo Cruz Foundation

ClinicalTrials.gov lists Oswaldo Cruz Foundation as lead sponsor of 42 trials. It has 6 active development programs and 15 approved assets.

BR Other
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

9 0 1999 2026

Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.

2026 is partial: 3 registered with a 2026 start date. The dashed outline is the pace from the 3 registered with a start date through September, planned starts included, not adjusted; not a forecast. No forecast is made for this organization: it averages 4.8 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.

Logo FIOCRUZ, via Wikimedia Commons, Public domain. Shown to identify the organization; it may be a registered trademark.

This page covers Oswaldo Cruz Foundation: 42 lead-sponsored trials and 0 legal-entity registrations.

Get the Oswaldo Cruz Foundation report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

Disease areas (75)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Disease areas
Disease area Trials
HIV Infections 12
COVID-19 7
Malaria 7
Tuberculosis 6
Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome 5

Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (20)

Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.

Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 3
2025 5
2024 3
2023 4
2022 9
2021 5
2020 1
2019 4
2018 7
2017 8

Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 1 trial still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

Active development programs (6)

Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.

Active development programs
Drug Disease area Max phase Trials
BCG (Bacillus Calmette-Guérin) vaccine COVID-19 Phase 3 1
Oral Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis (PrEP) (Tenofovir Disoproxil Fumarate/Emtricitabine) HIV Infections Not reported 1
Doxycycline Chlamydia Infections Not reported 1
Doxycycline Gonorrhea Not reported 1
Doxycycline Syphilis Not reported 1

Approved assets (15)

Shown in this order: max phase first.

Approved assets
Drug Trials
emtricitabine / tenofovir 200/300 mg 2
Praziquantel 40 mg/kg 1
Non- specialist - Epclusa 400Mg-100Mg Tablet 1
Specialist - Epclusa 400Mg-100Mg Tablet 1
Yellow Fever Vaccination 1

Sponsor delivery record (1)

Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Sponsor delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
1 of 2 hit target (n=2) 2 of 4 on time (n=4)

Journals published in (182)

Shown in this order: most published in first.

Journals published in
Journal Publications
The American journal of tropical medicine and hygiene 12
Clinical infectious diseases : an official publication of the Infectious Diseases Society of America 11
Lancet (London, England) 10
Vaccine 10
The New England journal of medicine 9

Financing and grant events (14)

Shown in this order: most recent first.

Financing and grant events
Date Round type Amount (USD) Source
2025-01-13 NIH grant 130,212 Reporter
2024-11-22 NIH grant 869,573 Reporter
2024-11-19 NIH grant 381,930 Reporter
2024-03-21 NIH grant 115,880 Reporter
2023-10-27 NIH grant 1,303,154 Reporter

Organization relationships (43)

Shown in this order: most evidence first.

Organization relationships
Related organization Relationship Evidence
Rio de Janeiro State Research Supporting Foundation (FAPERJ) Co sponsors trial with 5
The Immunobiological Technology Institute (Bio-Manguinhos) / Oswaldo Cruz Foundation (Fiocruz) Co sponsors trial with 4
Hospital Universitário Professor Edgard Santos Co sponsors trial with 3
Access to Advanced Health Institute Co sponsors trial with 2
Centre Hospitalier de Cayenne Co sponsors trial with 2

Latest dated events (100)

Shown in this order: newest first.

Latest dated events
Date Event Source
2026-07 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-05-25 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-02-03 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2025-10-28 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2025-09-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))

Biomarker capability evidence (142)

Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.

Biomarker capability evidence
Gene Role Evidence
AGA Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
CD4 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
CD4 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
CD4 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
EPO Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria

Biomarkers this organization publishes on (127)

Shown in this order: most publications first.

Biomarkers this organization publishes on
Biomarker Publications
CD4 13
TNF 10
IL6 9
CRP 8
IL1B 7

On Scientist.com

Oswaldo Cruz Foundation is listed as a research supplier in the Scientist.com network.

Source: Scientist.com supplier network

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, us granted patents, sec-reported annual financials, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.

Work with Fundacao OsWaldo Cruz (FIOCRUZ) on Scientist.com

For prices, more details, or to contact Fundacao OsWaldo Cruz (FIOCRUZ), visit Scientist.com.

Sign in to Scientist.com to open this supplier in your organization's marketplace.