Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Organization (Hospital)

Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust

ClinicalTrials.gov lists Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust as lead sponsor of 295 trials, counting the companies grouped under it. Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust itself has 41 active development programs and 36 approved assets.

GB Hospital
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

44 0 2005 2027

Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. Companies grouped under this one are not included. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.

2026 is partial: 40 registered with a 2026 start date. The hollow diamonds on the dashed line are a forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included: about 43 in 2026 and about 37 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The columns, the lighter one included, count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. This method has not been backtested on organizations. In backtests on conditions with as many trial starts a year as this organization (20 to 100), forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 18 percent and ran about 14 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 26 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored. 1 trial is registered to start in 2027 or later.

This page covers Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust and 1 company grouped under it: 295 lead-sponsored trials (294 its own, 1 in the grouped companies) and 2 legal-entity registrations (1 its own, 1 in the grouped companies).

Get the Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

Companies grouped under this page (1)

Companies grouped under this page
Company Lead trials Legal entities
Guy's Hospital 1 1

Disease areas (344)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Disease areas
Disease area Trials
Pain 20
Pulmonary Disease, Chronic Obstructive 17
Heart Failure 16
Diabetes Mellitus 15
Head and Neck Neoplasms 15

Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (22)

Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 1 trial is registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.

Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 40
2025 33
2024 33
2023 36
2022 40
2021 28
2020 30
2019 44
2018 43
2017 30

Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 28 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 18 months across 116 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

Active development programs (41)

Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.

Active development programs
Drug Disease area Max phase Trials
PROPOFOL Respiratory Distress Syndrome Phase 2/3 1
Isoflurane Respiratory Distress Syndrome Phase 2/3 1
Clopidgrel 75 mg daily Peripheral Arterial Disease Not reported 1
Control (placebo) group Diabetes, Gestational Not reported 1
Control (placebo) group Diabetes Mellitus Not reported 1

Approved assets (36)

Shown in this order: max phase first.

Approved assets
Drug Trials
0.5% Levobupivacaine 1
Prevenar 13 1
Lamivudine 150Mg Tablet 1
Mycophenolate Mofetil 1
Raltegravir 400Mg Tab 1

Sponsor delivery record (1)

Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Sponsor delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
43% hit target (n=81) 32% on time (n=74)

Journals published in (415)

Shown in this order: most published in first.

Journals published in
Journal Publications
BMJ open 30
The New England journal of medicine 27
Journal of the American College of Cardiology 19
Lancet (London, England) 15
Thorax 14

US granted patents (1)

Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.

US granted patents
US patents granted Granted in the last 5 years Most recent grant
16 3 2025-01-21

Organization relationships (318)

Shown in this order: most evidence first.

Organization relationships
Related organization Relationship Evidence
University of London Co sponsors trial with 53
King's College Hospital NHS Trust Co sponsors trial with 18
Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust Co sponsors trial with 9
Barts & The London NHS Trust Co sponsors trial with 8
Imperial College London Co sponsors trial with 7

Latest dated events (487)

Shown in this order: newest first.

Latest dated events
Date Event Source
2027-03 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-12 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-10 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-10 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-10-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))

Biomarker capability evidence (263)

Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.

Biomarker capability evidence
Gene Role Evidence
ABCD1 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
ABO Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
ADM Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
AICDA Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
ALAS2 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria

Biomarkers this organization publishes on (1,070)

Shown in this order: most publications first.

Biomarkers this organization publishes on
Biomarker Publications
CRP 49
JAK2 27
INS 25
TNF 23
IFNG 21

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: related companies not grouped here, sec-reported annual financials, financing and grant events, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.