Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Organization (Academic)

University of Bern

ClinicalTrials.gov lists University of Bern as lead sponsor of 208 trials. It has 29 active development programs and 9 approved assets.

CH Academic
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

36 0 1996 2027

Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.

2026 is partial: 24 registered with a 2026 start date. The hollow diamonds on the dashed line are a forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included: about 27 in 2026 and about 28 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The columns, the lighter one included, count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. This method has not been backtested on organizations. In backtests on conditions with as many trial starts a year as this organization (20 to 100), forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 18 percent and ran about 14 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 26 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored. 4 trials are registered to start in 2027 or later.

Logo Unknown author Unknown author, via Wikimedia Commons, Public domain. Shown to identify the organization; it may be a registered trademark.

This page covers University of Bern: 208 lead-sponsored trials and 2 legal-entity registrations.

Get the University of Bern report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

Disease areas (300)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Disease areas
Disease area Trials
Anxiety Disorders 12
Cognitive Dysfunction 11
Substance-Related Disorders 11
Diabetes Mellitus 10
Major Depressive Disorder 10

Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (27)

Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 4 trials are registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.

Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 24
2025 32
2024 23
2023 28
2022 32
2021 32
2020 30
2019 32
2018 36
2017 14

Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 23 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 23 months across 147 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

Active development programs (29)

Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.

Active development programs
Drug Disease area Max phase Trials
TIRZEPATIDE Diabetes Mellitus, Type 1 Phase 3 1
TIRZEPATIDE Diabetes Mellitus Phase 3 1
Group D Dental Caries Not reported 1
GROUP C Dental Caries Not reported 1
Group D Root Caries Not reported 1

Approved assets (9)

Shown in this order: max phase first.

Approved assets
Drug Trials
NALTREXONE 1
TIRZEPATIDE 1
Sorafenib 1
Diphenhydramine 1
Tetracycline 1

Sponsor delivery record (1)

Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Sponsor delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
54% hit target (n=98) 29% on time (n=99)

Journals published in (620)

Shown in this order: most published in first.

Journals published in
Journal Publications
PloS one 27
BMJ open 26
The New England journal of medicine 26
Lancet (London, England) 23
Circulation 22

US granted patents (1)

Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.

US granted patents
US patents granted Granted in the last 5 years Most recent grant
91 25 2025-12-30

Financing and grant events (10)

Shown in this order: most recent first.

Financing and grant events
Date Round type Amount (USD) Source
2025-09-24 NIH grant 2,876,367 Reporter
2024-08-01 NIH grant 844,255 Reporter
2024-07-03 NIH grant 3,119,813 Reporter
2023-08-03 NIH grant 61,217 Reporter
2023-04-27 NIH grant 3,380,907 Reporter

Organization relationships (238)

Shown in this order: most evidence first.

Organization relationships
Related organization Relationship Evidence
Insel Gruppe AG, University Hospital Bern Co sponsors trial with 19
University Hospital, Geneva Co sponsors trial with 9
Marmara University Co sponsors trial with 6
Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois Co sponsors trial with 6
Medical University of Vienna Co sponsors trial with 5

Latest dated events (516)

Shown in this order: newest first.

Latest dated events
Date Event Source
2029-01-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2027-12-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2027-12-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2027-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-10-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))

Biomarker capability evidence (232)

Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.

Biomarker capability evidence
Gene Role Evidence
AICDA Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
AMPH Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
CD4 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
CNTNAP1 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
CNTNAP2 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria

Biomarkers this organization publishes on (1,226)

Shown in this order: most publications first.

Biomarkers this organization publishes on
Biomarker Publications
CRP 61
CD4 48
IL6 41
INS 41
TNF 38

On Scientist.com

University of Bern is listed as a research supplier in the Scientist.com network.

Source: Scientist.com supplier network

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, sec-reported annual financials, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.

Work with University of Bern on Scientist.com

For prices, more details, or to contact University of Bern, visit Scientist.com.

Sign in to Scientist.com to open this supplier in your organization's marketplace.