Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Organization (Academic)

University of Rome Tor Vergata

ClinicalTrials.gov lists University of Rome Tor Vergata as lead sponsor of 94 trials. It has 15 active development programs and 7 approved assets.

IT Academic
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

16 0 1994 2027

Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.

2026 is partial: 11 registered with a 2026 start date. The hollow diamonds on the dashed line are a forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included: about 12 in 2026 and about 11 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The columns, the lighter one included, count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. This method has not been backtested on organizations. In backtests on conditions with as many trial starts a year as this organization (5 to 20), forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored. 1 trial is registered to start in 2027 or later.

Logo Original: University of Rome Tor Vergata Vector: Pantarch, via Wikimedia Commons, Public domain. Shown to identify the organization; it may be a registered trademark.

This page covers University of Rome Tor Vergata: 94 lead-sponsored trials and 1 legal-entity registration.

Get the University of Rome Tor Vergata report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

Disease areas (136)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Disease areas
Disease area Trials
Colorectal Neoplasms 13
Heart Failure 10
Obesity 9
COVID-19 8
Diabetes Mellitus 7

Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (26)

Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 1 trial is registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.

Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 11
2025 10
2024 11
2023 8
2022 15
2021 5
2020 16
2019 8
2018 6
2017 7

Prediction, not a registry value: median of 33 months from start to primary completion across 6 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 22 months across 59 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

Active development programs (15)

Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.

Active development programs
Drug Disease area Max phase Trials
Postoperative antibiotico-prophylaxis Colonic Neoplasms Early 1 1
Postoperative antibiotico-prophylaxis Colorectal Neoplasms Early 1 1
IVL3003 Color Vision Defects Not reported 1
IVL3003 Vision Disorders Not reported 1
Terbinafine Topical Gel Onychomycosis Not reported 1

Approved assets (7)

Shown in this order: max phase first.

Approved assets
Drug Trials
PIOGLITAZONE 1
ROSUVASTATIN 1
SIMVASTATIN 1
HYALURONIC ACID 1
Hesperidin 1

Sponsor delivery record (1)

Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Sponsor delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
63% hit target (n=8) 70% on time (n=10)

Journals published in (380)

Shown in this order: most published in first.

Journals published in
Journal Publications
Diabetes care 17
American journal of respiratory and critical care medicine 14
Journal of the American College of Cardiology 13
The New England journal of medicine 12
American journal of orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics : official publication of the American Association of Orthodontists, its constituent societies, and the American Board of Orthodontics 11

US granted patents (1)

Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.

US granted patents
US patents granted Granted in the last 5 years Most recent grant
15 2 2024-07-23

Organization relationships (67)

Shown in this order: most evidence first.

Organization relationships
Related organization Relationship Evidence
Medical University of Vienna Co sponsors trial with 2
Fondazione Policlinico Universitario Agostino Gemelli IRCCS Co sponsors trial with 2
Università Campus Bio-Medico Co sponsors trial with 2
Istituti di Ricovero e Cura a Carattere Scientifico Co sponsors trial with 2
S.Eugenio Hospital Co sponsors trial with 2

Latest dated events (164)

Shown in this order: newest first.

Latest dated events
Date Event Source
2027-01-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-11 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-10-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-09-15 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-09-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))

Biomarker capability evidence (70)

Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.

Biomarker capability evidence
Gene Role Evidence
ABCC8 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
AQP4 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
BRAF Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
CDCA7L Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
CRP Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria

Biomarkers this organization publishes on (824)

Shown in this order: most publications first.

Biomarkers this organization publishes on
Biomarker Publications
TNF 40
IL6 36
INS 33
CRP 23
IL1B 22

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, sec-reported annual financials, financing and grant events, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.