Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Organization (Academic)

Cornell University

ClinicalTrials.gov lists Cornell University as lead sponsor of 101 trials. It has 13 active development programs and 8 approved assets.

US Academic
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

19 0 1994 2027

Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.

2026 is partial: 17 registered with a 2026 start date. The hollow diamonds on the dashed line are a forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included: about 17 in 2026 and about 12 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The columns, the lighter one included, count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. This method has not been backtested on organizations. In backtests on conditions with as many trial starts a year as this organization (5 to 20), forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored. 1 trial is registered to start in 2027 or later.

Logo 颐园居, via Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0. Shown to identify the organization; it may be a registered trademark.

This page covers Cornell University: 101 lead-sponsored trials and 3 legal-entity registrations.

Get the Cornell University report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

Disease areas (113)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Disease areas
Disease area Trials
Obesity 18
Anemia 17
Malnutrition 15
Iron Deficiencies 14
Pain 11

Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (27)

Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 1 trial is registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.

Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 17
2025 8
2024 10
2023 11
2022 8
2021 9
2020 6
2019 15
2018 12
2017 19

Prediction, not a registry value: median of 23 months from start to primary completion across 8 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 19 months across 76 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

Active development programs (13)

Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.

Active development programs
Drug Disease area Max phase Trials
multivitamin, mebendazole Birth Weight Phase 3 1
multivitamin, mebendazole Anemia Phase 3 1
Antacid Osteoporosis Not reported 1
Antacid Bone Diseases, Metabolic Not reported 1
Antacid Fractures, Bone Not reported 1

Approved assets (8)

Shown in this order: max phase first.

Approved assets
Drug Trials
Vitamin E 1
SELENIUM 1
Ferrous Fumarate 3
Choline 2
Calcium/Vitamin D 1

Sponsor delivery record (1)

Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Sponsor delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
29% hit target (n=21) 32% on time (n=28)

Journals published in (273)

Shown in this order: most published in first.

Journals published in
Journal Publications
The Journal of nutrition 38
The American journal of clinical nutrition 27
The international journal of behavioral nutrition and physical activity 13
Journal of nutrition education and behavior 11
Journal of the American Dietetic Association 10

US granted patents (1)

Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.

US granted patents
US patents granted Granted in the last 5 years Most recent grant
1,349 430 2025-12-30

Financing and grant events (1,295)

Shown in this order: most recent first.

Financing and grant events
Date Round type Amount (USD) Source
2025-09-24 NIH grant 509,265 Reporter
2025-09-24 NIH grant 632,547 Reporter
2025-09-22 NIH grant 494,335 Reporter
2025-09-20 NIH grant 1,171,164 Reporter
2025-09-19 NIH grant 661,314 Reporter

Organization relationships (32)

Shown in this order: most evidence first.

Organization relationships
Related organization Relationship Evidence
Weill Medical College of Cornell University Co sponsors trial with 5
Nutrition International Co sponsors trial with 3
Arogyavaram Medical Centre Co sponsors trial with 3
Hal Chapman Co sponsors trial with 2
Laidlaw Foundation Co sponsors trial with 1

Latest dated events (2,844)

Shown in this order: newest first.

Latest dated events
Date Event Source
2027-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-10-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-10 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-10-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-09-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))

Biomarker capability evidence (69)

Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.

Biomarker capability evidence
Gene Role Evidence
ACE Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
COMMD3 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
COMMD3 Trial collaborator Primary endpoint in a Phase 3 trial
CSF1R Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
ELAVL4 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria

Biomarkers this organization publishes on (732)

Shown in this order: most publications first.

Biomarkers this organization publishes on
Biomarker Publications
CRP 49
TFRC 36
IL6 32
INS 25
HAMP 24

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, sec-reported annual financials, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.