Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Organization (Academic)

Harvard University

ClinicalTrials.gov lists Harvard University as lead sponsor of 50 trials. It has 3 active development programs.

US Academic
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

24 0 1998 2027

Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.

2026 is partial: 3 registered with a 2026 start date. The hollow diamonds on the dashed line are a forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included: about 4 in 2026 and about 5 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The columns, the lighter one included, count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. This method has not been backtested on organizations. In backtests on conditions with as many trial starts a year as this organization (5 to 20), forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored. 1 trial is registered to start in 2027 or later.

Logo Pierre la Rose, via Wikimedia Commons, Public domain. Shown to identify the organization; it may be a registered trademark.

This page covers Harvard University: 50 lead-sponsored trials and 1 legal-entity registration.

Get the Harvard University report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

Disease areas (172)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Disease areas
Disease area Trials
Anxiety Disorders 27
Diabetes Mellitus 23
Diabetes Mellitus, Type 1 15
COVID-19 8
Obesity 8

Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (27)

Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 1 trial is registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.

Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 3
2025 5
2024 10
2023 15
2022 11
2021 20
2020 16
2019 12
2018 24
2017 7

Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 4 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

Active development programs (3)

Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.

Active development programs
Drug Disease area Max phase Trials
Active Control Memory Disorders Not reported 1
Active Control Pain Not reported 1
Active Control Chronic Pain Not reported 1

Sponsor delivery record (1)

Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Sponsor delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
19% hit target (n=21) 33% on time (n=21)

Journals published in (468)

Shown in this order: most published in first.

Journals published in
Journal Publications
The New England journal of medicine 17
Journal of consulting and clinical psychology 14
Lancet (London, England) 13
Circulation 12
Journal of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry 12

US granted patents (1)

Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.

US granted patents
US patents granted Granted in the last 5 years Most recent grant
11 0 2010-08-10

Financing and grant events (819)

Shown in this order: most recent first.

Financing and grant events
Date Round type Amount (USD) Source
2026-04-07 NIH grant 421,684 Reporter
2025-09-23 NIH grant 901,999 Reporter
2025-09-12 NIH grant 409,945 Reporter
2025-09-11 NIH grant 577,531 Reporter
2025-09-10 NIH grant 724,135 Reporter

Organization relationships (61)

Shown in this order: most evidence first.

Organization relationships
Related organization Relationship Evidence
Government of the United States of America Co sponsors trial with 7
University of California System Co sponsors trial with 4
Mount Sinai Health System Co sponsors trial with 3
Inonu University Co sponsors trial with 3
University of Ljubljana School of Medicine, Slovenia Co sponsors trial with 3

Latest dated events (1,080)

Shown in this order: newest first.

Latest dated events
Date Event Source
2027-02-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-09 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-08-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-04-07 NIH grant Funding rounds and grants (NIH RePORTER + SEC EDGAR)
2026-01-06 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))

Biomarker capability evidence (204)

Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.

Biomarker capability evidence
Gene Role Evidence
AICDA Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
AIM2 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
ALB Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
ALB Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
APC Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria

Biomarkers this organization publishes on (1,226)

Shown in this order: most publications first.

Biomarkers this organization publishes on
Biomarker Publications
INS 44
CD4 38
CRP 22
TNF 21
IL6 18

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, approved assets, sec-reported annual financials, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.