Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Organization (Academic)

University of Helsinki

ClinicalTrials.gov lists University of Helsinki as lead sponsor of 132 trials. It has 10 active development programs and 20 approved assets.

FI Academic
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

28 0 1993 2027

Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.

2026 is partial: 10 registered with a 2026 start date. The hollow diamonds on the dashed line are a forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included: about 12 in 2026 and about 14 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The columns, the lighter one included, count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. This method has not been backtested on organizations. In backtests on conditions with as many trial starts a year as this organization (20 to 100), forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 18 percent and ran about 14 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 26 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.

Logo Unknown author Unknown author, via Wikimedia Commons, Public domain. Shown to identify the organization; it may be a registered trademark.

This page covers University of Helsinki: 132 lead-sponsored trials and 1 legal-entity registration.

Get the University of Helsinki report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

Disease areas (264)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Disease areas
Disease area Trials
Diabetes Mellitus 25
Obesity 23
Pain 13
Periodontitis 11
Dental Plaque 8

Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (33)

Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.

Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 10
2025 17
2024 20
2023 28
2022 25
2021 17
2020 10
2019 16
2018 23
2017 13

Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 6 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 27 months across 81 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

Active development programs (10)

Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.

Active development programs
Drug Disease area Max phase Trials
Probiotic Dysbiosis Not reported 1
Music intervention Dyslexia Not reported 1
Music intervention Language Development Disorders Not reported 1
Music intervention Learning Disabilities Not reported 1
Niacin Mitochondrial Diseases Not reported 2

Approved assets (20)

Shown in this order: max phase first.

Approved assets
Drug Trials
Montelukast 2
HES 1
Bolus without paracetamol 1
Ringer Lactate 1
Trexan+Salazopyrin+Oxiklorin+prednisolone + infliximab 1

Sponsor delivery record (1)

Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Sponsor delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
33% hit target (n=18) 39% on time (n=23)

Journals published in (419)

Shown in this order: most published in first.

Journals published in
Journal Publications
BMJ open 16
Diabetologia 14
Journal of clinical periodontology 12
Diabetes care 11
Lancet (London, England) 11

US granted patents (1)

Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.

US granted patents
US patents granted Granted in the last 5 years Most recent grant
20 4 2025-03-25

Financing and grant events (1)

Financing and grant events
Date Round type Amount (USD) Source
2021-08-03 NIH grant 422,943 Reporter

Organization relationships (80)

Shown in this order: most evidence first.

Organization relationships
Related organization Relationship Evidence
Helsinki University Central Hospital Co sponsors trial with 26
University of Turku Co sponsors trial with 11
Varsinais-Suomen Sairaanhoitopiiri Co sponsors trial with 8
Oulu University Hospital Co sponsors trial with 5
Research Council of Finland Co sponsors trial with 4

Latest dated events (349)

Shown in this order: newest first.

Latest dated events
Date Event Source
2026-10-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-09-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-09 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-08-17 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-07-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))

Biomarker capability evidence (129)

Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.

Biomarker capability evidence
Gene Role Evidence
ANGPTL3 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
C12orf57 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
CRP Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
F2 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
FOLH1 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria

Biomarkers this organization publishes on (2,195)

Shown in this order: most publications first.

Biomarkers this organization publishes on
Biomarker Publications
INS 99
CRP 59
TNF 39
HLA-A 28
IL6 27

On Scientist.com

University of Helsinki is listed as a research supplier in the Scientist.com network.

Service areas

Biology

University of Helsinki Biomedicum Functional Genomics Unit (FuGU) genome profiling services by next-generation sequencing, recombinant virus, and stably transduced cell line services.

Website
www.helsinki.fi/fugu

Source: Scientist.com supplier network

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, sec-reported annual financials, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.

Work with University of Helsinki Biomedicum Functional Genomics Unit (FuGU) on Scientist.com

For prices, more details, or to contact University of Helsinki Biomedicum Functional Genomics Unit (FuGU), visit Scientist.com.

Sign in to Scientist.com to open this supplier in your organization's marketplace.