Organization (Hospital)
Birmingham Women’s and Children’s NHS Foundation Trust
ClinicalTrials.gov lists Birmingham Women’s and Children’s NHS Foundation Trust as lead sponsor of 17 trials. It has 8 active development programs and 3 approved assets.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.
2026 is partial: 3 registered with a 2026 start date. The dashed outline is the pace from the 2 registered with a start date through September, planned starts included, not adjusted; not a forecast. No forecast is made for this organization: it averages 4.0 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
This page covers Birmingham Women’s and Children’s NHS Foundation Trust: 17 lead-sponsored trials and 1 legal-entity registration.
Disease areas (62)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Disease area | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phenylketonurias | 8 |
| Epilepsy | 3 |
| Hearing Loss | 2 |
| Maple Syrup Urine Disease | 2 |
| Abortion, Incomplete | 1 |
Showing 5 of 62 disease areas.
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (15)
Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 3 |
| 2025 | 6 |
| 2024 | 6 |
| 2023 | 4 |
| 2022 | 2 |
| 2021 | 6 |
| 2020 | 1 |
| 2019 | 1 |
| 2018 | 2 |
| 2017 | 1 |
Showing 10 of 15 years.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 1 trial still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
Active development programs (8)
Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.
| Drug | Disease area | Max phase | Trials |
|---|---|---|---|
| PTC923 | Phenylketonurias | Not reported | 1 |
| Sapropterin | Phenylketonurias | Not reported | 1 |
| ANTIBIOTIC (METRONIDAZOLE AND CIPROFLOXACIN) | Abortion, Spontaneous | Not reported | 1 |
| ANTIBIOTIC (METRONIDAZOLE AND CIPROFLOXACIN) | Abortion, Incomplete | Not reported | 1 |
| Indocyanine Green | Kidney Neoplasms | Not reported | 1 |
Showing 5 of 8 active programs.
Approved assets (3)
Shown in this order: max phase first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Indocyanine Green | 3 |
| Local anaesthetic | 1 |
| Sapropterin | 1 |
Sponsor delivery record (1)
Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.
| Enrollment | Timeline |
|---|---|
| 40% hit target (n=5) | 80% on time (n=5) |
Journals published in (76)
Shown in this order: most published in first.
| Journal | Publications |
|---|---|
| Journal of neurosurgery. Pediatrics | 9 |
| Child's nervous system : ChNS : official journal of the International Society for Pediatric Neurosurgery | 6 |
| Journal of pediatric surgery | 5 |
| Epilepsia | 4 |
| Journal of neurosurgery | 4 |
Showing 5 of 76 journals.
Organization relationships (107)
Shown in this order: most evidence first.
| Related organization | Relationship | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust | Co sponsors trial with | 4 |
| Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust | Co sponsors trial with | 3 |
| University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust | Co sponsors trial with | 3 |
| Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust | Co sponsors trial with | 3 |
| metaX Institut fuer Diatetik GmbH | Co sponsors trial with | 3 |
Showing 5 of 107 relationships.
Latest dated events (50)
Shown in this order: newest first.
| Date | Event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-01 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-07-30 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-06-01 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-03-07 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2025-11-03 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
Showing 5 of 50 events.
Biomarker capability evidence (12)
Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.
| Gene | Role | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| AQP4 | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| GALNS | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| PHEX | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| SLC25A13 | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| SPDEF | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
Showing 5 of 12 evidence rows.
Biomarkers this organization publishes on (278)
Shown in this order: most publications first.
Showing 5 of 278 biomarkers.
Not on this page
Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, us granted patents, sec-reported annual financials, financing and grant events, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.